WASHINGTON — A federal energy policy adviser, Colorado’s governor, a Tennessee congressman, and the mayor of Little Rock, Ark., are among this year’s Energy Leadership Awards honorees for outstanding achievement in supporting energy efficiency.

The awards will be presented in conjunction with the 14th Annual Energy Efficiency Forum, a nonpartisan event designed to raise awareness of the technical, economic, and political solutions being implemented to assure energy efficiency. The forum, co-sponsored by the United States Energy Association and Johnson Controls Inc., will be held June 11 at the National Press Club.

Honorees include:

  • Gov. Bill Owens of Colorado, who will receive the Governor’s Award in recognition of innovative leadership;

  • Rep. Zach Wamp (R-Tenn.), who will receive the Congressional Award for his legislative support of energy efficiency;

  • Mayor Jim Dailey of Little Rock, Ark., who will receive the first Mayor’s Energy Leadership Award for leading several energy conservation and environmental stewardship initiatives;

  • Alison Silverstein, a senior energy policy adviser at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), and Eddie Riddle Jr., a program manager at the Kentucky Division of Energy, who will each receive the Public Service Award for inspiring action to address energy efficiency in government; and

  • James Andrew Bever, who will receive the International Award. Bever holds the Counselor rank in the U.S. Senior Foreign Service and is Director of South Asian Affairs for the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) where he administers foreign assistance with an emphasis on energy efficiency programs in Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka.

    Publication date: 06/02/2003