MAUI, Hawaii - Kevin A. Harpring of Harpring Inc., Louisville, Ky., was elected by the Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors' National Association (SMACNA) board of directors to serve as president. His term began at the close of the association's 61st annual convention.

"During my term as president, SMACNA will continue taking a proactive and leadership position on behalf of its members," said Harpring. "Our association is dedicated to delivering programs and services that will enable our contractor firms to exhibit market expertise and maintain leadership roles in the construction industry."

Other new officers are: President-elect Keith Wilson, Miller Bonded Inc., Albuquerque, N.M.; Secretary/Treasurer Richard J. Cramer Sr., Dee Cramer Inc., Holly, Mich.; Vice President Ronald Palmerick, AABCO Sheet Metal Co., Brooklyn, N.Y.; and Immediate Past President Mark C. Watson, Climate Engineers Inc., Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

The newly elected directors serving four-year terms are: Paul J. Alexander, Straus Systems, Stafford, Texas; James Boone, New England Sheet Metal Works Inc., Fresno, Calif.; Richard Rivera, Key Air Conditioning Contractors Inc., Santa Fe Springs, Calif.; and Dwight D. Silvia, D.D.S Industries, Fall River, Mass.

Award Winners

Awards presented at the convention included:

  • Legislative Contractor of the Year: Jim Hausman, Hausman Metal Works and Roofing, St. Joseph, Mo.

  • Distinguished Legislative Service Award: Spence O'Brien, Cal-Air, Whittier, Calif.

  • Chapter Executive Legislative Advocate of the Year: Judith Nagle, executive director of SMACNA of Southern Nevada.

  • Chapter Participation Awards: Sheet Metal Contractors Association of Philadelphia; SMACNA - Sacramento Valley Chapter; SMARCA of Minnesota Inc.

  • Petersen-Dunn Award: Gary L. Schwenk, executive vice president of the Bay Area SMACNA Chapter. (The award is presented to SMACNA chapter executive making a substantial contribution to the local association and SMACNA.)

  • Contractor of the Year: Robert B. Gawne, CEO of Stromberg Metal Works Inc., Beltsville, Md.

    Safety First

    Here are the award winners in the 2004 SMACNA Safety Survey:

  • Over 500,000 hours: (1) The Jamar Co. Inc., Duluth, Minn.; (2) MacDonald – Miller Co., Seattle; (3) Heritage Mandell Mechanical Services Inc., Deer Park, N.Y.

  • 400,001-500,000: (1) CCI Mechanical Inc., Salt Lake City; (2) Air-Rite Heating & Cooling Inc., North Aurora, Ill.; (3) Martin Petersen Co. Inc., Kenosha, Wis.

  • 300,001-400,000: (1) Superior Air Handling Corp., Clearfield, Utah; (2) Streimer Sheet Metal Works Inc., Portland, Ore.; (3) Straus Systems Inc., Stafford, Texas.

  • 200,001-300,000: (1) Frank Millard & Co. Inc., Burlington, Iowa; (2) Vaughan Roofing & Sheet Metal Inc., Port Allen, La.; (3) Miller Bonded Inc., Albuquerque, N.M.

  • 100,001-200,000: (1) Peterson Mechanical Inc., Sonoma, Calif.; (2) NEWJAC Metal Fab Inc., Lebanon, Ind.; (3) Crosby-Brownlie Inc., Rochester, N.Y.

  • 50,001-100,000: (1) Metro Air Conditioning Co., Lenexa, Kan.; (2) Neudorfer Engineering, Seattle; (3) Griffin & Co. Inc., Louisville, Ky.

  • 25,001-50,000: (1) Premier Mechanical Corp., Tempe, Ariz.; (2) Gerard Sheet Metal Fabricators Inc., East Brunswick, N.J.; (3) Environmental Air Services, Folcroft, Pa.

  • 1-25,000: (1) Independent Balancing Co., Philadelphia; (2) Shephard Mechanical Contractors, Rancho Cordova, Calif.; (3) ABCO Mechanical Contractors Inc., San Francisco.

    Publication date: 11/22/2004