ARLINGTON, Va. — North American Technician Excellence (NATE) elected a new chairman as well as three new members to the Board of Trustees for the 2013-2014 term at its biannual meeting.

Wade Mayfield, president of Thermal Services Inc., Omaha, Neb., was named chairman. He has been involved in the HVAC business for 13 years. Having started as a sheet metal apprentice, he learned the business from the ground up. He has been president of Thermal Services for seven years. 

“I am honored to be elected as chairman of the NATE Board of Trustees,” said Mayfield. “As an HVACR professional and contractor, I know the value of NATE certification and am pleased to continue to work with NATE in this new role.”

Chris Baker, president of Virginia Air Distributors and David Swift, president and CEO of Goodman/Amana, will continue to serve as vice-chairman and secretary/treasurer, respectively for the 2013-2014 term. Donald Frendberg assumed the role of Immediate Past Chairman. NATE also recognized the dedication and commitment of retiring board members Mitchell Cropp of Cropp-Metcalfe, and Whit Perry of Northwest Mississippi Community College. 

The newly elected members to the NATE Board of Trustees are Chris Nelson, president of Carrier Residential and Commercial Systems; Scott Goulet, president of M.E Flow Inc., Leesburg, Va.; and David McIlwaine, president, CEO, and founder of HVAC Distributors Inc., Mount Joy, Pa.

“I proudly welcome Wade and the new members of the NATE Board of Trustees and sincerely thank our retiring members for their service,” said NATE COO John Lanier. “NATE continues to set the standards for quality HVACR technicians and I look forward to working with the NATE Board and staff to advance its vision.”

Talbot Gee, executive vice president and COO of HARDI will remain on the board for the coming year as well. 

For more information, visit