At its recent convention, the National Association of Heating Oil Service Managers (NAOHSM) presented several awards:

  • The Manufacturer of the Year award went to Bacharach Instruments (Pittsburgh, PA).

  • Floyd Barger of the Paul Bunyan Chapter (ME) was named NAOHSM Associate of the Year.

  • Service Manager of the Year was awarded to John LeVangie of Scott-Williams, Inc. (Qunicy, MA).

  • Charles Thomas, instructor at the New England Fuel Institute Training Centers, received the Hugh McKee Award.

In addition, the Second Annual Dave Nelsen Scholarship Awards were presented to Kenneth Blowe and James T. Rodino, both of whom will attend Pennco Technical School this fall. The other recipient was Leslie Pysz, who is currently enrolled at Northwestern College.

The Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA) and Iowa State University are presenting “Best Practices in Design-Build Project Delivery and Finance,” July 20-21, at the Knickerbocker Hotel, Chicago, IL. DBIA is also offering “Conceptual Estimating for Design-Build Projects” on July 21 at the same location. For more information, contact 202-682-0110; 202-682-5877 (fax); (Web site).