• The Career Development Committee of the Mechanical Contractors Association of America (MCAA) has announced that the recipient of its first Educator of the Year Award is Professor Timothy G. Wentz. The committee chose Wentz in recognition of his commitment to MCAA’s educational programs, his success in creating a student chapter at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and his willingness to assist the committee on a variety of educational and career development projects.
  • The Plastic Pipe and Fittings Association (PPFA) joined with the Vinyl Institute (VI), the Chlorine Chemistry Council (CCC), and other industry organizations to donate products and help build 35 houses in Americus, GA and five houses in Plains, GA, during the September Build of Habitat for Humanity International.
  • The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) announces that its 71st Annual Education and Business Conference was the most heavily attended event in the organization’s history. Courtney Arford, commercial plumbing and mechanical building inspector for Douglas County, CO was elected president of IAPMO. Richard Cheeseman, building official for the city of Cedar Falls, IA was elected vice president. New board members are:
  • ¾ Jordan Krahenbuhl, plumbing/mechanical inspector for the Clark County, NV Building Department.

    ¾ David Montano, plumbing and mechanical inspector for the city of Albuquerque, NM.

    ¾ Rick Anschutz, vocational instructor for San Quentin Prison, San Quentin, CA.

    ¾ Kenneth Carlson, chief plumbing inspector for the city of Portland, OR.

    Publication date:11/06/2000