OKLAHOMA CITY — Daniel Ellis, president of geothermal and water-source heat pump manufacturer ClimateMaster, was presented with the Rittinger Medal at the 11th International Energy Agency (IEA) Heat Pump Conference in Montreal.

The Ritter von Rittinger Medal is an international award that recognizes individuals or teams that have distinguished themselves in the advancement of heat pump technology, applications, and market development activities with lasting international impact. It is granted every three years by the IEA Heat Pump Program.

The award is named after Peter Ritter von Rittinger, an engineer credited with the design and installation of the first practical heat pump system at a salt works in Upper Austria in 1856. This year, five individuals were presented this award by Dr. Sophie Hosatte, chair of the IEA Heat Pump Program executive committee.

“It is my great pleasure to recognize these dignified gentlemen and honor them with the industry’s most prestigious prize,” said Hosatte during the ceremony. “Our award winners are undoubtedly five of the most influential individuals also in the history of the IEA Heat Pump Program.”

“I am extremely honored to receive this award and to be recognized alongside these industry leaders,” said Ellis. “ClimateMaster’s relentless pursuit of technological and marketing innovation and our long- standing commitment to industry stewardship have no doubt made this award possible.”

Ellis joined ClimateMaster in 1995. Previously co-founder and president of WaterFurnace, he has been active in the geothermal heat pump field since 1978 and is recognized as one of the industry pioneers. His technical contributions include residential energy analysis and system design software, advanced technology heat pumps, and innovations in the design of large commercial heat pump systems. Ellis is also an industry advocate, most notably leading the effort that resulted in the current United States federal tax incentives for geothermal heat pumps.

Ellis is chairman of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) Water-Source Heat
Pump sub-section and is currently a director-at-large on the AHRI board. He is also chairman of subcommittee TC86/SC6 within the International Standards Organization (ISO), which is responsible for air conditioner and heat pump rating standards.

Ellis is a member of ASHRAE and a member of the U.S. National Team for the IEA Heat Pump Program. He also serves on the board of the Geothermal Exchange Organization (GEO).

For more information, visit www.climatemaster.com.

Publication date: 6/9/2014

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!