EAST PETERSBURG, Pa. - The National Association of Oil Heating Service Managers (NAOHSM) awarded eight educational scholarships to students seeking further education in the oil heating industry. Thanks to a new Jack Sullivan award sponsored by Taco Inc., the number of scholarships awarded was increased this year from seven to eight.

This scholarship program was established to honor David Nelsen, a Long Island, N.Y., service manager who worked for a full-service fuel dealer and was instrumental in the growth of oil heat education programs throughout the industry.

The winners were selected by a panel of independent judges and invited to attend the scholarship awards banquet during the association’s Annual Convention & Trade Show held in Hershey, Pa. Each winner received a $2,000 scholarship and an invitation to attend the awards banquet.

The recipients include: Clayton Bretz, New Bloomfield, Pa. - Delavan Spray Technology Award; Adam Cooksley, Old Lyme, Conn.; Brandon Evans, Chicago; Frank Muller, Pawcatuck, Conn. - Jack Sullivan Award; Jeffrey Normandy, E. Orleans, Mass.; Javier Rivera, Chicopee, Mass.; Matthew Robinson, Williamsport, Pa.; and Brian Spagna, Yonkers, N.Y.

After receiving their awards, Dave Nelsen’s former employer, Don Kurz, and members of Dave’s family were on hand to welcome the winners into the HVAC industry.

For more information, visit www.naohsm.org.

Publication date:07/02/2007