EAST PETERSBURG, Pa. - The National Association of Oil Heating Service Managers (NAOHSM) has expanded its educational scholarships for students seeking further education in the oil heating industry. Thanks to a new "Jack Sullivan" award sponsored by Taco Inc., the number of scholarships awarded this year was increased from seven to eight. This scholarship program was established to honor David Nelsen, a Long Island, N.Y., service manager who worked for a full-service fuel dealer and was instrumental in the growth of oil heat education programs throughout the industry.

The winners were selected by a panel of independent judges and invited to attend the scholarship awards banquet during the association's Annual Convention & Trade Show held in Hershey, Pa. Each winner received a $2,000 scholarship.

The recipients included: Clayton Bretz, New Bloomfield, Pa. - Delavan Spray Technology Award; Adam Cooksley, Old Lyme, Conn.; Brandon Evans, Chicago; Frank Muller, Pawcatuck, Conn. - Jack Sullivan Award; Jeffrey Normandy, E. Orleans, Mass.; Javier Rivera, Chicopee, Mass.; Matthew Robinson, Williamsport, Pa.; and Brian Spagna, Yonkers, N.Y.

After receiving their awards, David Nelsen’s former employer, Don Kurz, and members of Nelsen’s family were on hand to welcome the winners into the HVAC industry.

For more information, visit www.naohsm.org.

Publication date:06/25/2007