ARLINGTON, Va. - The Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI) awarded 11 recipients the 2006 Clifford H. "Ted" Rees Jr. Scholarship. ARI's Rees Scholarship was established to honor the legacy of Ted Rees, a former president of ARI, and his efforts to encourage HVACR manufacturers to provide support to strengthen vocational and technical school education nationwide. It was established to encourage students to pursue higher education and a career as HVACR technicians. The award is a $2,000 scholarship for qualified students who are enrolled, or plan to enroll, in an HVACR program at an accredited institution.

ARI awarded the following students: Burton Maines, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Williamsport, Pa.; Michael Snow, Elgin Community College, Elgin, Ill.; Jason Lubiewski, Linn State Technical College, Linn, Mo.; Michelle Kereluk, Lehigh Carbon Community College, Schnecksville, Pa.; Daniel Zeolla, Triangle Tech, Greensburgh, Pa.; Gary McDonald, Delaware Technical and Community College, Georgetown, Del.; David Pirozzoli, Harrisburg Area Community College, Harrisburg, Pa.; Brian Patrick Smith, Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Mich.; Roma Snuffer, Portage Lakes Career Center, Green, Ohio; and Kyle Morrison and Craig Morrison ($1,000 each), Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Mich.

"We are thrilled to award these scholarships to some of the brightest men and women studying in this technical field today," said William Sutton, president of ARI.

Publication date: 09/25/2006