ATLANTA - A scholarship created in memory of Frank Coda, the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers' (ASHRAE's) former executive vice president who died in 2004, has been awarded for the first time.

The undergraduate engineering scholarship was awarded to Jeremy Dreiling, an architectural engineering student at Kansas State University. It provides $5,000 for one year.

"Frank saw the need for ASHRAE's involvement with education and always advocated assistance for students and supported cooperation between ASHRAE and universities," said Jeffrey Spitler, Ph.D., P.E., chair of ASHRAE's Scholarship Trustees. "This scholarship is a very appropriate way to recognize his contributions and honor his memory. The endowed scholarship will provide significant help to a deserving student each year."

Coda became ASHRAE executive director in 1981, was named chief staff officer in 1984, and became executive vice president emeritus in January 2004. He continued to work for ASHRAE in a consulting capacity until his death in June 2004.

ASHRAE's scholarship program was launched in 1989 under Coda's leadership. Since that time, ASHRAE has awarded 136 scholarships. The ASHRAE scholarship program encourages and assists HVACR education through scholarships and fellowships.

Other scholarships awarded by ASHRAE this year, totaling some $60,000, are:

  • Reuben Trane Scholarships, $10,000 for two years, Adrian Akerson, space physics and aeronautics, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, Fla.; Kevin Moore, mechanical engineering, Saginaw Valley State University, University Center, Mich.; and Peter McKeon, mechanical engineering, University of Pittsburgh;

  • ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship, $3,000 for one year, Brad Crumpton, mechanical engineering, University of Texas at Tyler;

  • ASHRAE Memorial Scholarship, $3,000, Blake Erb, mechanical engineering, University of Saskatchewan;

  • Associate Engineering Technology, $3,000, David Fox, commercial/industrial refrigeration and HVAC technology, Bellingham (Wash.) Technical College; and David Pirozzoli, HVAC technology, Harrisburg (Pa.) Area Community College;

  • General Scholarship, $3,000, Kai Hartman, mechanical engineering, Tri-State University, Angola, Ind.; and Nashley Mascarenhas, mechanical engineering, Purdue University;

  • Henry Adams Scholarship, $3,000, Kevin Kaufman, architectural engineering, Pennsylvania State University;

  • Bachelor Engineering Technology, $3,000, Andrew Mengwasser, mechanical engineering technology, Southern Polytechnic State University, Marietta, Ga.;

  • Alwin B. Newton Scholarship, $3,000, Martin Nolan, mechanical engineering, City College – City University of New York;

  • J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship, $3,000, Igor Tatarintsev, mechanical engineering, University of Pittsburgh;

  • Duane Hanson Scholarship, $3,000, Cassie Waddell, architectural engineering/architecture, University of Kansas.

    For more information on ASHRAE's scholarship program, visit the "Student Zone" section of

    Publication date: 08/28/2006