Recently, the Department of Energy (DOE) announced that it would work with three utilities to evaluate and obtain Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) approval for the building of new nuclear power plants. The new plants are being proposed at three existing nuclear sites: North Anna in Virginia, Grand Gulf in Mississippi, and Clinton in Illinois.

— by Greg Mazurkiewicz

Publication date: 11/25/2002