• Members of the National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors (NAW) elected the following officers during the NAW Annual Meeting in Washington, DC: — Chairman of the board: Alan Vidinsky, founder, chairman, and ceo, Valin Corp. (Sunnyvale, CA);

    — Chairman-elect: Grady Rosier, president and ceo, McLane Co., Inc. (Temple, TX);

    — First vice chairman: Andre Lacy, chairman, president, and ceo, LDI Ltd. (Indianapolis, IN);

    — Second vice chairman: Willliam A. Parsley, president, Carswell Distributing Co. (Winston-Salem, NC); — Chairman, Subcommittee of Budget and Finance: J. Michael Moore, Applied Industrial Technologies (Bloomfield Hills, MI);

    — Secretary: Sydney T. (Tucker) Jones III, president, Hudson Valley Paper Co. (Albany, NY);

    — Past chairman: Byron Potter, president and ceo, Dallas Wholesale Builders Supply, Inc. (Dallas, TX); and

    — President and chief executive officer: Dirk Van Dongen, president, NAW (Washington, DC).

  • The Mechanical Contractors Association of Chicago (MCA) has awarded its third annual Herb Kriesman Award to Purdue University student Adam Brown. The award is an annual $2,500 scholarship given to a student in Purdue’s Department of Building Construction Management.

    Publication date: 02/12/2001