ATLANTA, GA - Undergraduate students were challenged by the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) 2000 Student Design Competition to design a two-story educational building on a college campus in Greenville, SC. The students competed in three categories: hvac selection, hvac design, and architectural design.

First place in hvac system selection went to a team from Ferris State University, Big Rapids, MI. They include Leye Adegbite, Jason Cooper, Kevin Dettling, Ken Frieling, Bill Hoch, Troy Milan, Jeff Oosting, Adrian Subryan, Jeremy Tell, Chris Weaver, and Adam Wilson. Their advisor is Mitchell LeClaire, P.E.

In the hvac system design category, another team from Ferris State won. These students are John Damoth, Leon Greiner, Brian Holton, Sam Lampe, Martin McDonough, John Quilitzsch, Glenn Remington, and Steve Turnbull. Their advisor is Michael Korcal.

Two students from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in Milwaukee, WI µ Andrew Herland and Troy Jacoby µ took first place for architectural design. Their advisor is Jeffrey Raasch.

The winning teams will receive $1,500 and financial support for a representative to attend ASHRAE’s 2001 Winter Meeting, January 27-31 in Atlanta, GA, to receive their awards.

Publication date: 09/25/2000