• Glen A. Wegworth has been appointed to the newly created position of vice president of operations for the Controls Business at Johnson Controls, Inc. (Milwaukee, WI). He is responsible for developing and implementing a global operations strategy to standardize processes, tools, and metrics. Prior to coming to Johnson Controls, Wegworth worked at Siemens Building Technologies and Carrier Corp.
  • Bill Moltner, has been promoted to vice president, investor relations, from director, investor relations, by Lennox International (Dallas, TX). He has headed investor relations since its inception in August 1998 and has played a key role in managing the company's relationships with the investment community since its July 1999 IPO. He joined Lennox in 1990 as Canada’s national marketing manager.
  • EVTC, Inc. t/a Environmental Technologies Corp. (Fort Worth, TX), an hvac onsite sales and services company, announced Bob Stephens is succeeding George Cannan Sr. as ceo, though Cannan will remain chairman of the board and president of the subsidiary, Environmental Materials Corp. John Mazzuto has resigned from the board and is replaced by Chuck Rice Jr.
  • B. Vernice Deskins has been elected to the office of president and treasurer of Persinger Supply Co. (Prichard, WV). Beverly B. Smith was given the post of vice president General merchandise Division, and Donna G. Rice received the position of assistant secretary and assistant treasurer. At the May 12 shareholders meeting the following people were elected to the board: B. Vernice Deskins, John M. Hubbard, Beverly B. Smith, Eddie D. Scott, K. Michael Persinger, and Paul E. Pinson.
  • Daniel W. Holmes, chairman and ceo of Morrison Products, Inc., was elected chairman of the board of directors of the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI) at the organization's May 5 board meeting. Other officers and directors named at that time are: Thomas E. Bettcher, president and ceo of Copeland Global; Jonathan W. Ayers, president , Worldwide, Carrier Corp.; Gary L. Tapella, president and ceo, Rheem Manufacturing; Scott Boxer, president, Lennox Industries, Inc.; Ralph Coppola, president, Hill PHOENIX; Debbie Hawkins, president, Superior Coils, Inc.; Joseph R. Humphrey, vice president, Advanced Engineering, Tyler Refrigeration corp.; David J. Huntley, president, Mammoth Inc.; David J. LaGrand, president and coo, Nordyne, Inc.; David Pannier, president, Trane UPG, The Trane Company; John H. Reilly, president and ceo, National Refrigeration Products; Robert Wilkins, Danfoss, Inc; Dennis E. McColsky, vice president, Business Development, Manitowoc Ice, Inc.; John Ferguson, president, International Division, Tecumseh Products Co.; and David R. Parks; president, Goodman Manufacturing Co.
  • Thermo King Corp. (Minneapolis, MN) has appointed Erl Swierkowski as president of Thermo King North America, and Randal Gast as vice president of marketing and product management.
  • Todd Smith has been named a member of the board of directors of the Philadelphia Managers & Owners Association for a two-year term. He is currently employed as a sales engineer at Fluidics Inc., a mechanical-service contractor in Philadelphia.
  • The 2001 National Capital Chapter of the Air conditioning Contractors of America recently installed officers. They are:

    Bill Aitken, president, Aitken A/C, Gaithersburg, MD

    Carl Godwin, sr. vice president/treasurer, NorthStar Htg., Newington, VA

    Brian Harvey, 1st vice president H&C, Inc., Laurel, MD

    Chris Perry, secretary, J&P Htg., Hyattsville, MD

    The newly installed directors are:

    Charles Ayres, Shapiro & Duncan, Rockville, MD

    Don Brennan, Brennan's Htg., Woodbridge, VA

    Joyce Bland, Burtonsville Fuel, Burtonsville, MD

    Tim Cropp, Cropp-Metcalfe A/C, Fairfax, VA

    Dan Foley, Arlington Htg., Arlington, VA

    Rick Gemmer, M&M Mech., Newington, VA

    Mike Muse, Tom Muse Svc., Vienna, VA

    Bob Nibert, Academy Htg., Rockville, MD

    Wendell Nixon, Presidential Ref., Gaithersburg, MD

    Debra Risher, Belair Eng., Mitchellville, MD

    Bryan White, R&B, Inc., Alexandria, VA

  • Equilla Wainwright, director of diversity at Johnson Controls (Milwaukee, WI) has been named one of the Distinguished Black Women of 2001 by Black Women in Sisterhood for Action (BISA). BISA is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to developing and promoting alternative strategies for the educational and career development of black women.

    Publication date: 06/11/2001