ATLANTA Fifty-five people were recognized for their contributions to ASHRAE and the industry at the Society’s 2017 Winter Conference, Jan. 28-Feb. 1, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade that recognizes members who have attained distinction and made substantial contributions in HVACR such as education; research; engineering design; and consultation, publications, and mentoring. The Society elevated 22 members to the grade of Fellow:

Charles S. Barnaby, Moultonborough, New Hampshire; Charlene Warres Bayer, Atlanta, Georgia; Michel Bernier, Montreal, Quebec; James J. Bushnell, Solana Beach, California; Thomas D. Colvin, Salt Lake City, Utah; John F. Dunlap, Richmond, Virginia; Steven J. Emmerich, Gaithersburg, Maryland; Krishnan Gowri, San Francisco, California; John L. Harrod, Edmond, Oklahoma; Eliseo Huergo, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Julia Keen, Manhattan, Kansas; Thomas M. Lawrence, Athens, Georgia; Zoltan Magyar, Budapest, Hungary; David R. Olson, Longmont, Colorado; Richard L. Pavlak, Dayton, Ohio; Michael Rosenberg, Richland, Washington; Timothy A. Shedd, Madison, Wisconsin; Carey J. Simonson, Saskatchewan, Canada; Robert L. Towell, Edwardsville, Illinois; Phillip M. Trafton, Tarzana, California; R. Vijayakumar, Liverpool, New York; Fu-Jen Wang, Taichung City, Taiwan.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by ASHRAE members who have successfully applied innovative building designs. Their designs incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor air quality (IAQ) and serve to communicate innovative systems design. Winning projects are selected from entries earning regional awards. First place recipients are:

Kitaro Mizuide, Osaka, Japan, receives first place in the New Commercial Buildings category for the YKK80 Building, Tokyo; Adam C. S. Wheeler, San Francisco, Calif., receives first place in the Existing Building Commissioning, Other Institutional Buildings category for the University of California, San Francisco, Parnassus Services Seismic Replacement Building MBCx; Bradford Crowley, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, receives first place in the New Educational Facility category for the Johns Hopkins University Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories, Baltimore, Maryland; Julien Allard, Montreal, Quebec, receives first place in the New Industry Facilities or Processes category for the Construction du Centre de transport Stinson, Montreal; Kurt Monteiro, Toronto, Ontario, receives first place in the New Health Care Facilities category for Humber River Hospital, Toronto; Brian Rose, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Tracy Steward, Louisville, Kentucky, receive first place in the New Commercial Buildings category for the Cincinnati District 3 Police Headquarters – Net Zero Energy Building, Ohio; Shannon M. Allison, Oakland, California, receives first place in the Existing Commercial Buildings category for 435 Indio Way, Sunnyvale, California.  

The 2016 Student Design Competition focused on a new two-story municipal government building in Beijing, China.

First place in the HVAC Design Calculations category is awarded to the University of British Columbia. Team members are Alexander Brosky, Samarth Joshi, Aubrey McNeill, Silvia Odaya, Cheng Yang, and Ziran Yu. Faculty advisors are Nima Atabaki and Steven Rogak, and the industry advisor is Ali Nazari.

First place in the System Selection category is awarded to California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. Team members are Miro Zaroukian, Asped Khachatoorian, Christian Garcia, Sevan Hovsepian, and Tade Mirzakhanyan. Advisors are Henry Xue and Richard L. Gilbert.

First place in the Integrated Sustainable Building Design category is awarded to a team from the University of Central Florida. Team members are Logan G. Harrell, Gerald Hornik, Austin B. Christianson, Travis Kalikapersaud, and Jeremy Palavecino. The faculty advisor is Muthusamy V. Swami, and the technical advisor is Nathaniel B. Boyd.

The Applied Engineering Challenge for 2015-2016 required students to plan, develop, and enact solutions to sustainability issues in their local or regional areas.

For the Applied Engineering Challenge, recipients are from the University of Regina, Saskatchewan – Bradley E.R. Lulik, Eva Rennie, and Brent Yeske. Their faculty advisor is Adisorn Aroonwilas.

The E.K. Campbell Award of Merit honors an individual for outstanding service and achievement in teaching and is presented by the Life Members Club. The recipient is Thomas H. Kuehn, Minnesota, Minneapolis.

The John F. James International Award recognizes a member who has done the most to enhance the Society's international presence. The recipient is Gerald C. Groff, Cazenovia, New York.

The Milton W. Garland Commemorative Refrigeration Award for Project Excellence recognizes a non-comfort cooling refrigeration application that highlights innovation and/or new technologies in a unique manner. The recipient is Claude Dumas, Montreal, Quebec.

The Comfort Cooling Award for Project Excellence recognizes the designer and owner of a comfort cooling application that highlights innovative and/or new technologies. The recipient is Andy Pearson, Glasgow, United Kingdom.

The ASHRAE Pioneers of Industry Award recognizes deceased individuals who have made milestone contributions to the growth of HVACR. Recipients are Carl Georg Munters (1897-1989), a founder of Munters AB whose inventions were based on simple heat and mass transfer with no refrigerants or compressors; and Frederick Wittenmeier (1863-1928), a pioneer in development of carbon dioxide refrigerant systems and their application to comfort cooling for public buildings.

Honorary Members, elected by the board of directors are defined as notable persons of preeminent professional distinction. The recipient is Stephen T. Ayers, Washington, District of Columbia.

For more information, visit

Publication date: 2/7/2017

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!