ARLINGTON, Va. — The Clifford H. “Ted” Rees Jr. Scholarship Foundation recently announced scholarships for 56 students who competed at the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference in the HVACR category. The Gold, Silver, and Bronze level winners in the secondary and post-secondary categories qualified for $2,000, $1,000, and $750 scholarships, respectively. All other competitors received $500 scholarships. The Rees Scholarship and SkillsUSA partnership began last year and is designed to support students with an established interest in the HVACR industry to continue their studies.
“These students already won statewide competitions, and by competing in the national conference, they’ve qualified for a scholarship commensurate with their achievement levels to help them pursue careers in our industry,” said Stephen Yurek, president and CEO of Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI). “We wish them success as they continue their education.” Gold medalist winners, Joshua Haley, Partlow, Virginia, and Ryan Gallagher, Big Rapids, Michigan, each earned $2,000 scholarships.

Silver medalist winners, Nathan Zabrecky, Bardstown, Kentucky, and Peyton Sutton, Fitzgerald, Georgia, received $1,000 scholarships.

Bronze medalists Hoyt Brown, Valhermoso Springs, Alabama; and Randy Schunk, Willmar, Minnesota, earned $750 scholarships.

Secondary finalists winning $500 include: Wesley Snyder, Roswell, New Mexico; Cody Windham, Brookville, Ohio; Blake Evans, Roxbury, Pennsylvania; Scott Cersosimo, Charlestown, Rhode Island; Ean Anderson, Glendale, Arizona; Edmarie Serrno Gonzalez, Bajadero, Puerto Rico; Andrew Tignor, Charleston, West Virginia; Austin Rolfsmeyer, Wathena, Kansas; Jose Rameriz, Alhambra, California; Austin Cromer, Gaffney, South Carolina; Blake Moore, Milton, Florida; Grant Bowley, Aberdeen, Washington; Nick Massaro, Union Beach, New Jersey; Ahron Keizer, Grand Rapids, Michigan; Ronald Perry, Villa Rica, Georgia; Jeffrey Hebert, Sutton, Massachusetts; Jared Thompson, Brockport, New York; Sean Luciano, Pascagoula, Massachusetts; Kobe Champine, Berwick, Louisiana; Ethan Fannan, Joplin, Missouri; Avery James, Mooresville, North Carolina; James Smith, Dresden, Tennessee; Tyler Lord, Middletown, Delaware; Patrick Machia, Waterville, Vermont; Christian Gabriel, Manhattan, Illinois; Haley Cole, Port Neches, Texas; Thomas Mascia, Westminister, Maryland; Bob Ryker, Darlington, Indiana; Nicholas Chrostek, New Haven, Connecticut; and Colby Renfroe, Ardmore, Oklahoma.

Post-secondary finalists winning $500 scholarships include: Michael Horner, Mather, California; Terry Jones, Springfield, Missouri; Tony Davis, Shreveport, Louisiana; Carlos Ortega, Harlingen, Texas; Aaron Cochran, Reading, Pennsylvania; Braden Borders, Elizabethtown, Kentucky; Joshua Neumann, Creve Coeur, Illinois; Jason Mercer, Martin, Tennessee; Brandon Higdon, Higdon, Alabama; Andrew Black, Solomon, Kansas; Greg Smith, Milton, Florida; Christopher Rose, Farmington, New Mexico; Erik Reyes, Lewiston, Idaho; Mitch Lamon, Coweta, Oklahoma; Jesse Ferguson, Morgantown, West Virginia; Samuel Lytle, Saint George, Utah; Jeffrey Reichl, Greensboro, North Carolina; James Buresh, David City, Nebraska; Ryan Hill, Forest, Mississippi; and Matthew Peterson, Boone, Iowa; Since the Rees Scholarship Foundation was founded in 2003, it has awarded more than $440,000 in scholarships to more than 250 students and instructors. For more information, visit

Publication date: 8/22/2016 

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!