ARLINGTON, Va. — The Clifford H. "Ted" Rees Jr. Scholarship Foundation has announced scholarships for 56 students who competed at the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference in the HVACR category. The Gold, Silver, and Bronze level winners in the secondary and post-secondary categories qualified for $2,000, $1,000, and $750 scholarships, respectively. All other competitors received $500 scholarships. The Rees Scholarship and SkillsUSA partnership began last year and is designed to support students with an established interest in the HVACR industry to continue their studies.

“These students already won statewide competitions, and by competing in the national conference, they’ve qualified for a scholarship commensurate with their achievement level to help them pursue careers in our industry,” said Stephen Yurek, Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute(AHRI) president and CEO. “We wish them success as they continue their education.”

Gold Medalists
Secondary: Joshua Haley, Partlow, Virginia
Post-Secondary: Ryan Gallagher, Big Rapids, Michigan

Silver Medalists
Secondary: Nathan Zabrecky, Bardstown, Kentucky
Post-Secondary: Peyton Sutton, Fitzgerald, Georgia

Bronze Medalists
Secondary: Hoyt Brown, Valhermoso Springs, Alabama
Post-Secondary: Randy Schunk, Willmar, Minnesota

Secondary Finalists
Wesley Snyder, Roswell, New Mexico
Cody Windham, Brookville, Ohio
Blake Evans, Roxbury, Pennsylvania
Scott Cersosimo, Charlestown, Rhode Island
Ean Anderson, Glendale, Arizona
Edmarie Serrno Gonzalez, Bajadero, Puerto Rico
Andrew Tignor, Charleston, West Virginia
Austin Rolfsmeyer, Wathena, Kansas
Jose Rameriz, Alhambra, California
Austin Cromer, Gaffney, South Carolina
Blake Moore, Milton, Florida
Grant Bowley, Aberdeen, Washington
Nick Massaro, Union Beach, New Jersey
Ahron Keizer, Grand Rapids, Michigan
Ronald Perry, Villa Rica, Georgia
Jeffrey Hebert, Sutton, Massachusetts
Jared Thompson, Brockport, New York
Sean Luciano, Pascagoula, Massachusetts
Kobe Champine, Berwick, Louisiana
Ethan Fannan, Joplin, Missouri
Avery James, Mooresville, North Carolina
James Smith, Dresden, Tennessee
Tyler Lord, Middletown, Delaware
Patrick Machia, Waterville, Vermont
Christian Gabriel, Manhattan, Illinois
Haley Cole, Port Neches, Texas
Thomas Mascia, Westminister, Maryland
Bob Ryker, Darlington, Indiana
Nicholas Chrostek, New Haven, Connecticut
Colby Renfroe, Ardmore, Oklahoma

Post-Secondary Finalists
Michael Horner, Mather, California
Terry Jones, Springfield, Missouri
Tony Davis, Shreveport, Louisiana
Carlos Ortega, Harlingen, Texas
Aaron Cochran, Reading, Pennsylvania
Braden Borders, Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Joshua Neumann. Creve Coeur, Illinois
Jason Mercer, Martin, Tennessee
Brandon Higdon, Higdon, Alabama
Andrew Black, Solomon, Kansas
Greg Smith, Milton, Florida
Christopher Rose, Farmington, New Mexico
Erik Reyes, Lewiston, Idaho
Mitch Lamon, Coweta, Oklahoma
Jesse Ferguson, Morgantown, West Virginia
Samuel Lytle, Saint George, Utah
Jeffrey Reichl, Greensboro, North Carolina
James Buresh, David City, Nebraska
Ryan Hill, Forest, Mississippi
Matthew Peterson, Boone, Iowa

Since the Rees Scholarship Foundation was founded in 2003, it has awarded more than $440,000 in scholarships to more than 250 students and instructors. For more information, visit

Publication date: 7/13/2016

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!