ST. LOUIS — ASHRAE announced it installed new officers and directors for 2016-17 during its annual meeting held June 25-29 in St. Louis.

The new president is Timothy Wentz, Fellow ASHRAE and associate professor, University of Nebraska – Lincoln. As ASHRAE’s president, Wentz chairs ASHRAE’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee. His theme, “Adapt Today to Shape Tomorrow,” is based on the goal in ASHRAE’s strategic plan to adapt. Wentz relates this goal to his personal history of moving from a slide rule in his early college days to a hand calculator and now a computer or smartphone as an example of the challenges and opportunities inherent in adapting to new technology.

“All of us have had to come face-to-face with the challenges of adaptation,” he said. “It’s in the power of adapting that lives, organizations, and communities are transformed. Our ability to shape tomorrow is born out of our willingness to adapt today. Together, we can create our future by adapting our resources, investments, and technology to shape a more sustainable world.”

Other officers installed for a one-year term are: President-elect Bjarne Olesen, professor, Technical University of Denmark, Kongens Lyngby, Denmark; treasurer Sheila Hayter, group manager, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colorado; vice president Walid Chakroun, professor, Mechanical Engineering Department, College of Engineering and Petroleum, Kuwait University; vice president Patricia Graef, senior engineer, evaporative media core technology, research and development, Munters Corp., Fort Myers, Florida; vice president Ginger Scoggins, president, Engineered Designs, Raleigh, North Carolina; and vice president Edward Tsui, managing director, Intelligent Technologies Ltd., Hong Kong.

ASHRAE also installed the following directors to serve three-year terms from 2016-19.

Region IV director and regional chair George “Billy” Austin Jr., principal, Shultz Engineering Group, Charlotte, North Carolina; region V director and regional chair Douglas David Fick, vice president, TRC Worldwide MEP, Indianapolis; region VI director and regional chair Benjamin Skelton, president, Cyclone Energy Group, Chicago; region XII director and regional chair Daniel R. Rogers, president, Flow Control Technology Co., Tampa, Florida; region XIII director and regional chair Ir. Ng Yong Kong, NYK Engineering and Trading, and executive director, Bezaire Sdn. Bhd., Subang Jaya, Malaysia; director-at-large Essam Eldin Khalil, Ph.D., professor of mechanical engineering, Cairo University; director-at-large Thomas Lawrence, mechanical engineering program coordinator and professor, college of engineering, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia; and director-at-large Lawrence Markel, senior program director, CSRA Inc., Knoxville, Tennessee. More information can be found at

Publication date: 7/25/2016

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!