WASHINGTON — The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced that 25 percent of all single-family homes built nationally in 2010 earned EPA’s Energy Star, up from 21 percent in 2009. Since 1995 approximately 1.2 million new homes have earned EPA’s Energy Star, representing savings of nearly $350 million on utility bills while avoiding greenhouse gas emissions equivalent to those from more than 450,000 vehicles, said the agency.

“New homes that earn EPA’s Energy Star seal of approval rise above the competition by offering a better quality and value while allowing homeowners to do their part to keep our communities clean,” said EPA Assistant Administrator for Air and Radiation, Gina McCarthy. “With Energy Star’s energy-efficient homes, homeowners will cut down on electric bills and emissions to keep our air cleaner and our communities healthier. Reaching this impressive market share milestone for Energy Star qualified homes is an accomplishment for American home buyers and builders and a step in the right direction to better protecting the environment through sustainable living.”

In 2010, more than 108,000 single-family homes earned the Energy Star across the nation and 16 states had a market share of 25 percent or higher Energy Star qualified homes. These states include Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, and Vermont.

Homes earn the Energy Star by meeting energy-efficiency requirements set by EPA, including:

• Efficient heating and cooling equipment

• Effective insulation systems

• Quality construction to reduce leaks and drafts

• High-performance windows

• Energy Star qualified lighting and appliances

For more information on Energy Star’s qualified home market share, visit www.energystar.gov/homesmarketindex. For more information on the Energy Star program, visit www.energystar.gov.

Publication date: 10/03/2011