EAST PETERSBURG, Pa. - In response to the need for qualified heating technicians to work in the industry, the National Association of Oilheating Service Managers (NAOHSM) offers annual scholarships to students interested in furthering their education in the HVAC field.

To date, NAOHSM has awarded over $161,000 in scholarships. In 2010, it awarded 12, each worth $2,000. For 2011, NAOHSM is modifying the criteria for the review process and limiting the number of awards. There will be a minimum of four $5,000 awards. More emphasis will be placed upon applications of students whose instructor has submitted a recommendation. In addition, NAOHSM will weigh students’ financial need and passion for their future plans.

Each award will be jointly named after the sponsor - the manufacturer (or individual) and NAOHSM. All winners and their families will be invited to the annual awards banquet, which will be held May 24 during the annual convention in Hershey, Pa.

NAOHSM funds its portion of the awards through the annual Dave Nelsen Golf Tournament. The 2011 tournament will be held on Monday, May 23, at 1:00 p.m. It will be a scramble with a shotgun start at Iron Valley Golf Course in Lebanon, Pa. The cost per golfer will include golf participation, lunch, and a cocktail party following the event, where prizes will be awarded.

For more information, visit www.naohsm.org.

Publication date:01/10/2011