PARSIPPANY, N.J. - The Hydraulic Institute (HI) announced its 2009 board of directors and officers during a general session at the 92nd Annual Meeting held in Marco Island, Fla.

Bill Waltz, president of the Flow Technologies Division of Pentair Water, was named the institute’s new chairman of the board. Additionally, Waltz received HI’s President’s Award recognizing his past efforts and leadership as 2008 board president.

Dennis Ziegler, president and CEO of GIW Industries, was elected HI president and also received HI’s Vice President’s Award for his previous service as HI’s vice president of member services.

Steve Oswald, president of the Industrial Division of Hamilton Sundstrand Corp., was elected as vice president of HI member services; and Ken Napolitano, president of ITT Industrial Process was elected as HI’s vice president of knowledge and education.

Dave McKinstry, vice president of IMO Pump, was re-elected to serve as HI’s vice president of technical affairs until 2010.

Robert K. Asdal, executive director of HI, will continue to serve as the institute’s secretary and treasurer.

John Miersma, vice president, CFO and COO of Iwaki America Inc., was presented with HI’s Chairman’s Award recognizing his many contributions to the pump industry and to HI. Miersma, along with past HI President, Albert F. Huber, president of the Patterson Pump Co., and Tom Ferguson, president of Flowserve’s Pump Division, continue their active participation with the organization as members of the 2009 board of directors. Additional members of the board include: Dave Brockway, president, Intelliquip Inc.; Dean Douglas, president and CEO, Peerless Pump Co.; Rich Heppe, president of Industrial Motors & Systems, Emerson/US Motors; Sven Olsen, president, Leistritz Corp.; Dave Orlowski, CEO, Inpro/Seal Co.; and Mike Sutter, vice president and general manager, Global Industrial Operations, Flowserve Pump Division.

For more information, visit

Publication date:04/20/2009