SAN ANTONIO - The U.S. Department Energy (DOE) held its second annual Solar America Cities Meeting in San Antonio, one of DOE’s 25 participating Solar America Cities.

According to DOE, local government leaders and national solar experts convened to discuss best practices and new ideas for promoting solar energy in today’s economic environment. The meeting featured a Solar America Cities Mayors’ roundtable as well as educational sessions addressing new solar financing models and green job opportunities in the solar industry.

The 25 Solar America Cities were selected by DOE based on their commitment to a comprehensive, citywide approach to solar adoption. The partnership DOE created with each city is designed to further these efforts and engage city stakeholders by supporting local innovation with financial and technical assistance. The Solar America Cities are developing state-of-the-art programs and tools, such as online solar mapping portals, creative incentive programs, and public-private partnerships developed to help make solar energy mainstream and serve as a model for other cities across the country.

The 25 Solar America Cities are: Ann Arbor, Mich.; Austin, Texas; Berkeley, Calif.; Boston; Denver; Houston; Knoxville, Tenn.; Madison, Wis.; Milwaukee; Minneapolis-St. Paul; New Orleans; New York; Orlando, Fla.; Philadelphia; Pittsburgh; Portland, Ore.; Sacramento, Calif.; Salt Lake City; San Antonio; San Diego; San Francisco; San Jose, Calif.; Santa Rosa, Calif.; Seattle; and Tucson, Ariz.

For more information, visit

Publication date:04/13/2009