WASHINGTON - The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced its selection of 12 cities across the country as Solar America Cities. Each city will receive $200,000 (a total of $2.4 million) to integrate a variety of solar technologies, such as solar water heating, solar photovoltaic electric systems, and large-scale solar thermal electric systems, which are also known as concentrating solar power. Combined with industry cost sharing and funding from each city, the total amount invested will be approximately $12.1 million. The 12 cities include Sacramento, San Jose, and Santa Rosa, Calif.; Denver; Orlando, Fla.; the combined “twin cities” of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minn.; Philadelphia; Knoxville, Tenn.; Houston; San Antonio; Seattle; and Milwaukee.

In addition to the funding, DOE will also provide hands-on assistance from technical experts to help cities integrate solar technologies into their energy planning, zoning, and facilities; streamline local regulations and practices that affect solar adoption; provide solar financing options; and promote solar technology among residents and local businesses through outreach, curriculum development, and incentive programs. DOE selected 13 Solar America Cities in 2007, so the latest selection brings the total number of Solar America Cities to 25.

Publication date:04/21/2008