EAST PETERSBURG, Pa. - The National Association of Oil Heating Service Managers (NAOHSM) announced that it will be awarding 10 oil heating education scholarships in 2009. Offered with sponsorship support from Delavan, Honeywell, Taco, and Weil-McLain, these scholarships are awarded in memory of Dave Nelsen, a well respected service manager and industry educator who passed away in 1998. They will be awarded to people of any age that would like to further their education in the field of oil heating.

Scholarships will be awarded to winning entrants who write and submit a 500-word essay answering the question, “What are your thoughts about the oil heating industry and what appeals to you about this segment of the energy industry?” The essay along with a scholarship application, available on the NAOHSM Website at www.naohsm.org, should be submitted to the association’s national office no later than Friday, March 20, 2009.

After review by a panel of independent judges, 10 people will each be awarded $2,000 scholarships. Winners will be announced in the spring and will be invited to attend the NAOHSM Awards Banquet during the association’s 56th Annual Convention & Trade Show, May 17-21, 2009 at the Hershey Lodge and Convention Center in Hershey, Pa.

NAOHSM’s annual Dave Nelsen Scholarship Golf Tournament supports the scholarship fund and is held during the Convention & Trade Show. The 2009 tournament will be held in Hershey on Monday and Tuesday, May 18-19, 2009.

To learn more about the Dave Nelsen Scholarship Fund or NAOHSM visit www.naohsm.org and click on “Industry Support.” Applications are also available by calling the NAOHSM national office at 888-552-0900.

Publication date:12/08/2008