Larry Sabato, (left) renowned political commentator and professor at the University of Virginia, gets a laugh out of Keith Coursin, president Desert Aire, and incoming chairman of AHRI.

CARLSBAD, Calif. - Keith Coursin, president of Desert Aire Corp., headquartered in Germantown, Wis., was elected chairman of the board of directors of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) at the organization’s board of directors meeting held Nov. 16 in Carlsbad, Calif.

Coursin has been an active member of AHRI for more than 10 years. He has served as AHRI’s treasurer, chairman of the Dehumidifiers product section, and as a member of the association’s Audit Committee, Budget and Investment Committee, Education and Training Committee, and Exposition Policy Committee.

Other officers elected to the association’s board of directors include two new vice chairmen: Morrison Carter, CEO, Beckett Gas Inc., North Ridgeville, Ohio; and Ray Hoglund, president and CEO, Hill Phoenix, Conyers, Ga. Harry Holmes, president and CEO, Morrison Products Inc., Cleveland, was elected treasurer and C. David Myers, vice president and president, building efficiency at Johnson Controls Inc., Milwaukee, will serve as immediate past chairman.

AHRI’s board also elected 11 vice presidents: Todd M. Bluedorn, CEO, Lennox International, Richardson, Texas; Steven S. Duerwachter, president, Baltimore Aircoil, Baltimore; Dan Ellis, president, ClimateMaster, Oklahoma City; J. R. Jones, president and CEO, Rheem Manufacturing Co., Atlanta; Bonnie Kern-Koskela, president and CEO, Maxitrol, Southfield, Mich.; David LaGrand, president and CEO, Nordyne, O’Fallon, Mo.; Michael Lehman, president and CEO, Bard Manufacturing Co., Bryan, Ohio; Edgar M. Purvis Jr., executive vice president, Emerson Climate Technologies, Sidney, Ohio; Ajita Rajendra, president, A.O. Smith Water Products, Ashland City, Tenn.; John Reilly, CEO, National Refrigeration Products, Philadelphia; and Eric Roberts, president, CES Group, Chaska, Minn.

Seven industry leaders were recognized with special awards at the meeting. The three different awards, presented by AHRI Chairman C. David Myers, recognize the unique, individual contributions of these HVACR industry leaders.


The Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award was presented to five industry leaders for their outstanding service to the industry: Paul Doppel, director, factory liaison and government affairs, Mitsubishi Electric and Electronics USA, Suwanee, Ga.; Drake Erbe, vice president for business development, AirXchange Inc., Rockland, Mass.; Michael Garrabrant, American Water Heaters; Bruce Maike, vice president of engineering, Allied Air Enterprises, West Columbia, S.C.; and Robert Yost, laboratory director, National Refrigerants, Inc., Bridgeton, N.J.

Doppel was recognized for his outstanding leadership during his three years serving as chairman of the AHRI Ductless Equipment Engineering Committee. During his tenure, he presided over development of proposed ARI Standard 1230P, Performance Rating of Variable Refrigerant Flow (VRF) Multi-Split Air-Conditioning and Heat Pump Equipment.

Doppel has been a longtime contributor to AHRI product section work and was integral in the development of a new Single Package Vertical Units Subsection. He also currently serves as a member of the AHRI Standards Policy Committee and Cooling Standards Subcommittee.

Erbe was recognized for his outstanding service to the HVACR industry for his participation on several industry committees. He has been an active member of AHRI’s Air-to-Air Energy Recovery Ventilation product section and Government Affairs Committee.

He was instrumental in the development of ARI Standard 1060, Performance Rating of Air-To-Air Heat Exchangers for Energy Recovery Ventilation Equipment and ARI Guideline V, Calculating the Efficiency of Energy Recovery Ventilation and Its Effect on Efficiency and Sizing of Building HVAC Systems. Erbe is the current chairman of the ASHRAE 90.1 Mechanical Subcommittee. During his service on this subcommittee, he successfully streamlined and strengthened the standard review process.

In addition, Drake has been a strong proponent of the consensus process and has encouraged the development of agreements between industry and energy-efficiency groups to improve energy efficiency and reduce building energy consumption.

Garrabrant was recognized for his leadership as chairman of the Water Heater Test Harmonization Working Group. During his service, he organized and completed a review of the U.S. Department of Energy’s 24-hour Simulated Use Test Method, which included calculation methods for indicating compliance, test equipment type, accuracy, and calibration frequency. This nearly two-year review process improved the accuracy and repeatability of water heater efficiency performance tests.

Maike, who has served the industry for more than 20 years, has provided important guidance on standards development to AHRI Standards Policy Committee, as well as AHRI’s Furnace, Unitary Small Equipment and Unitary Large Equipment product sections. He has chaired the Standards Policy Committee and Cooling Standards Subcommittee since 2007. He served as deputy chairman for the Standards Policy Committee for seven years, during which time he led efforts to standardize formats and provisions in the various ARI standards.

Yost has served on the ARI Standard 700 Committee for nearly 20 years and is currently serving his sixth year as chairman. Under his leadership, the committee published ARI Standard 700-2006, Specification for Fluorocarbon Refrigerants, and completed a major revision to the 1999 edition of Appendix C to ARI Standard 700, Analytical Procedures for ARI Standard 700. As committee chairman, Yost devoted a tremendous amount of time to update Standard 700 and Appendix C. His knowledge, experience, perseverance and attention to detail contributed to the accuracy and integrity of ARI Standard 700, which is acknowledged worldwide.


Daryl Hosler, manager for Wilson Environmental, received AHRI’s Public Service Award for providing valuable, expert guidance on many gas appliance technical issues and standards. He serves as current chair of the Z21/83 Committee on Gas Appliances and Accessories, and he has been an active member of that committee for nearly 15 years.

Hosler also served as chair of the Z21/83 Gas Water Heater Subcommittee and has been a strong proponent and industry advocate of gas appliance manufacturers. He also is a long-standing member of the U.S. Technical Advisory Group to the ISO TC-161 committee and is a liaison member to the AHRI Controls Section’s Standards Review Task Group.


David Huntley, president of CES Group, received AHRI’s Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor bestowed by the association. It recognizes individuals who throughout their career have been industry leaders and made significant contributions to its advancement. Huntley was honored with this award for his more than 40 years of service to the HVACR industry, and in particular, his leadership as chairman of AHRI’s Communications Committee.

Under his leadership, the committee oversaw the launch of a new association Website and development of a new certification mark. Huntley also served as a longtime member of AHRI’s board of directors and Executive Committee; as a member of AHRI’s Water-source Heat Pump Section; as vice chairman of its Chiller Section; and chairman, vice chairman, and member of the association’s Unitary Large Equipment Section.

Publication Date:12/15/2008