ARLINGTON, Va. - The Air Conditioning Contractors of America - National Capital Chapter (ACCA-NCC) elected its 2008-2009 officers and directors, making Debra Risher the first female president of the 44-year-old trade association. “It is an honor to be in the position of president, to be the first woman elected, and to have the opportunity to serve the HVACR industry,” said Risher. “This industry has been so good to me and my family.”

She has been in the HVACR industry for over 30 years and owns Belair Engineering, Mitchellville, Md.

The 2008-2009 board also includes Wendell Nixon, senior vice-president/treasurer, Presidential Refrigeration, Gaithersburg, Md.; Mike Brennan, first vice-president, Brennan’s Heating, Woodbridge, Va.; Tim Cropp, second vice-president, Cropp-Metcalfe Air Conditioning, Fairfax, Va.; and Davie Kyle, secretary, Trademasters Service, Newington, Va.

The newly elected directors are Charles Ayres, Shapiro & Duncan, Rockville, Md.; Brian Boysen, Choice Heating, Manassas, Va.; John Clark, Carrier Mid-Atlantic, Sterling, Va.; Tommy Croker, Arlington Heating, Arlington, Va.; Pete Danielson, Lennox, Hamilton, Va.; Travis Dobson, R. A. Dobson Inc., Sterling, Va.; Dan Foley, Foley Mechanical, Alexandria, Va.; Rick Gemmer, M & M Mechanical, Newington, Va.; Ray Handy, John G. Webster Service, Beltsville, Md.; Holly Hoff, Dynatemp Inc., Silver Spring, Md.; Jeff Riley, Thos. Somerville Co., Chantilly, Va.; and Mike Wheat, James A. Wheat & Sons, Gaithersburg, Md.

Publication date:02/11/2008