Manufacturers, wholesalers, and contractors all convened at the Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, Victoria, B.C., for the Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada’s 39th Annual General Meeting (AGM).

VICTORIA, British Columbia - Under the umbrella of the Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada (HRAI), manufacturers, distributors, and contractors met to discuss business matters and enjoy the beauty of Victoria, British Columbia, during its 39th Annual General Meeting (AGM). Held at the Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa, participants took time from a busy meeting schedule to enjoy golf, whale watching, and garden tours.

This jam-packed program provided speakers at most every meal, a welcome reception, and the chair’s reception and banquet. Combined with different business management speakers, the AGM proved not only to be informative, but entertaining as well.

Warren Heeley, president of the Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute, briefly addressed attendees at the Chair’s Banquet. Later that evening, Heeley was presented with a gift, commemorating his 25th year of service to the association.


Manufacturers and wholesalers met together to discuss multiple product section issues and objectives. During the HRAI Manufacturers Division AGM, multiple objectives were set for 2007-08. One objective was to review the section’s representation in energy performance standards. The intention is to form a task group to conduct the review and implement any recommendations made. There was also a plan of executing further awareness of counterfeit equipment concerns in the industry.

Many of these steps include using HRAI’s Website to post a library of press releases, news articles, fact sheets, and tips to effectively create a counterfeiting awareness section on the site. Increased IAQ awareness made the list of objectives as well, as the group set a schedule for developing a specific media plan.

The final objectives included increasing the number of new members by 12 percent and develop a communication plan to inform consumers about matching systems and promote the use of programmable thermostats.

In the joint manufacturers and wholesalers refrigerant product section meeting, HRAI Manufacturers Division and the Canadian Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Wholesalers (CHRAW) agreed to multiple major objectives for the upcoming year. Active participation in the development and maintenance of halocarbon regulations, including the Montreal Protocol and others, will continue. Each will also continue to actively participate in the climate change/Kyoto Protocol regulatory development process.

The group intends to establish a strategic alliance with the supermarket and display case industry sectors, including a liaison with Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) on energy-efficiency programs. Refrigerant Management Canada will receive aggressive promotion to the industry and other stakeholders, striving for 100 percent industry participation and support for the program. Both links of the supply chain also committed to work in partnership on supply chain issues that will lead to more efficient business processes in the industry.

The manufacturers met again with the wholesalers during the heating and air conditioning product section meeting. The meeting covered a variety of topics, including, energy performance regulation and programs; federal and provincial updates; the HVAC EnerGuide program and Energy Star; incentive programs for new homes; standards and codes updates; the HRAI statistics program; residential air conditioning sound levels; hydronics; and utility relations.

They also discussed the Ontario Power Authority’s Cool Savings Rebate program. Multiple rebates are being offered until Dec. 31, 2007, saving homeowners up to $800.

Another major topic reviewed by the controls council was e-commerce. They reviewed extending the HARDITEK program into Canada to work with CHRAW and the Manufacturers’ Division. Current emphasis is being placed on bringing CHRAW members into the program.

Talbot Gee, vice president of Heating Airconditioning & Refrigeration Distributors International (HARDI), was on hand to further explain the program and answer questions. The council also considered having a university graduate school conduct an initial market study in lieu of starting a statistics program at this time. A task team was appointed to scope out the terms of reference and oversee the project.

The IAQ product section meeting updated its IAQ media plan. Members were pleased to see this initiative moving forward and agreed that it would compliment the HRAI IAQ training program. Among other topics, it was reported that the government had updated the guideline for exposure to radon, which recommends remedial measures should be undertaken in a dwelling whenever the average annual radon concentration exceeds 200 becquerels per cubic meter.

It was also reported that the Canadian Standards Association’s (CSA’s) C439 Standard for heat recovery ventilators is being updated to expand the scope and consider more models. A minimum efficiency level of 55 percent has been agreed upon by the C401 Technical Subcommittee. It is expected that the revision will be published in the third quarter of 2008.

Everyone was invited to attend “Indoor Air Quality: The Causes, The Effects, and The Solutions” session, hosted by Caroline David.


Multiple awards and appointments were made at the meeting. Pierre Martin, president of Pro Kontrol, was appointed chair of HRAI. Mark Boncardo, commercial director, Ineos Fluor Canada Inc, was appointed chair of the HRAI Manufacturers Division. Gerry Cellucci, vice president, Yorkland Controls, Toronto, was appointed chair of the CHRAW. Michael Latreille, principal of Holmes Heating Inc., Ottawa, Ontario, was appointed chair of the Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractors of Canada (HRAC).

In addition, HRAC’s membership elected the following board of directors for 2007-08: Nancy McKeraghan, past chair; Ron Robinson, vice-chair; Marc Gendron, secretary treasurer; and Dave Derksen. Other directors include Laverne Coulter, Stewart Creaser, Andy Gould, Lorne Kemp, Bryan Klinkhammer, Roger Rossi, Richard Siddall, Grant Sheahan, and Peter Steffes.

During the HRAC awards ceremony, Latreille presented the Craig McCarty Memorial Award to Neil Smith, Arvin Systems, Stoney Creek, Ontario, for his instrumental participation in the development of HRAC. Latreille also presented the Gerald Inch Award for Chapter Leadership. John Murphy, J.E. Murphy Heating, LaSalle, Ontario, received this award for his long-standing devotion of his time to carry on chapter functions, including developing networking opportunities for the members in Southwestern Ontario.

Publication Date:11/26/2007