MILWAUKEE - Johnson Controls Inc. kicked off its search for Tomorrow’s Energy Ambassadors, Managers, and Scholars (TEAMS). The company is holding a competition that calls for select college seniors and graduate students to collaboratively draft an open letter to the field of 2008 presidential candidates urging them to better clarify their positions on important matters related to energy and sustainability.

“This is a great opportunity for the future chief executive of the United States to hear from future business and academic leaders who will be directly affected by policy decisions made on energy and sustainability in this country and around the world,” said C. David Myers, president of the Johnson Controls Building Efficiency business. “We welcome the ingenuity and insight that these students will bring to bear on this discussion.”

The competition for TEAMS is open to students designated by four-year and graduate institutions that are members of the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE). While each school may submit only one entry, interdisciplinary collaboration with up to four student members is encouraged in order to craft a more insightful letter.

An independent panel of energy professionals and energy industry trade journalists will judge letters submitted for the TEAMS search. All entries must be between 800-900 words and each will be evaluated on its ability to clearly and concisely address presidential candidates within the prescribed word limit; awareness of energy issues and environmental stewardship; a logical presentation of arguments and facts; and creativity and originality of the letter’s call to action.

Johnson Controls will present the first place winning team’s college or university with a $10,000 check for its scholarship fund. In addition to having its letter published, the first place winning team will receive a $2,500 grant from Johnson Controls.

They will also be invited, as guests of the company, to attend the 2008 Energy Efficiency Forum in Washington, D.C. Second and third place teams will be awarded grants in the amounts of $1,500 and $1,000, respectively. All submissions must be received by Oct. 26, 2007. No entries will be considered after that date.

For more information, visit

Publication date:10/08/2007