LONG BEACH, Calif.- A move toward sustainability was highlighted at the annual meeting of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE). Approximately 1,600 members attended the meeting, which supported the society’s mission of advancing HVACR science to serve humanity and promote a sustainable world.

Kent Peterson, P.E., was inducted as the society’s president for 2007-08. Peterson emphasized innovation in the quest for sustainability in the built environment, stating, “Energy efficiency should always be the elegant alternative to fuel consumption.” He encouraged innovative thinking, more daring creativity, and more dedication to the pursuit of best practices that dramatically improve building energy performance.

ASHRAE also launched its first certification program in health care facility design. Some 40 people participated. The examination will be available on computer at testing centers in the U.S. and Canada by mid-August, the society said. The next certification program will focus on sustainability/high-performance building. It is scheduled to launch at the 2008 Annual Meeting.


The society recognized 57 people and one chapter for contributions to ASHRAE and the HVACR industry.

The Exceptional Service Award recognizes Distinguished Award recipients who have continued to serve the society with exemplary effort. Recipients include Tom Ferdelman, P.E., Heapy Engineering, Dayton, Ohio; Art Hallstrom, P.E., Trane, Lexington, Ky.; Dan Int-Hout III, Krueger, Richardson, Texas; Tom Phoenix, P.E., Moser Mayer Phoenix Associates, Greensboro, N.C.; Presidential Member Donald G. Rich, Fayetteville, N.Y.; and Edward Vineyard, P.E., Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Knoxville, Tenn.

The Distinguished Service Award was presented to the following members for giving freely of their time and talent to the society: Robert G. Baker, BBJ Environmental Solutions, Tampa, Fla.; Michel Bernier, Ph.D., P.Eng., École Polytechnique de Montréal; Michael J. Brandemuehl, University of Colorado at Boulder; John Castelvecchi, P.E., Shultz and James, Mechanicsville, Va.; K. William Dean, P.Eng, NRC Plant Biotechnology Institute, Saskatoon, Sask., Canada; David R. Dinse P.E., Tennessee Valley Authority, Chattanooga, Tenn.; Piotr Domanski, Ph.D., National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.; Vijay K. Gupta, P.E., U.S. General Services Administration, Washington; Shinsuke Kato, Ph.D., University of Tokyo, Meguro-Ku, Japan; Stephen D. Kennedy, Georgia Power Co., Atlanta; William J. McCartney, Isotherm Engineering, Mississauga, Ont., Canada; Christopher O. Muller, Purafil, Doraville, Ga.; James H. Norman, retired manager of technical services, ASHRAE; Daniel C. Pettway, Hobbs & Associates, Virginia Beach, Va.; Ernest W. Schumacher, Fujikoki America.; Jelena Srebric, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pa.; Renison W. Tisdale Jr., P.E., Vansant & Gusler Inc, Norfolk, Va.; and Yuanhui Zhang, Ph.D., P.E., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The Distinguished 50-Year Member Award, given to persons who have been a member of the society for 50 years and have performed outstanding service, was awarded to William Barbier, P.E., Concept Technology Inc., Hazelwood, Mo.; Hugh C. Carter, P.E., Carter Engineers, San Diego, Calif.; Robert J. Coughlin, IBM, Cincinnati; John J. Harmon, P.E., John J. Harmon Consulting Engineering, Richmond, Va.; Francois L’Anglais, Sillery, Quebec; William A. Lotz, P.E., Acton, Maine; Carl W. MacPhee, P.E. (honored posthumously); David N. McMinn, Santa Rosa, Calif.; Presidential Member Donald G. Rich, Fayetteville, N.Y.; Robert T. Tamblyn, P.Eng., Tamblyn Consulting Services, North York, Ont., Canada; Eugene L. Valerio, Technical Marketing Services, Coos Bay, Ore.; and Robert D. Wells, P.E. (honored posthumously).

The Willis H. Carrier Award is given to an ASHRAE member 32 years of age or younger for presenting an outstanding paper at a society meeting. Barbara McCrary won for “Environmental Impacts of Surface Water Heat Pump,” which also receives an ASHRAE Poster Presentation Award. Co-authors are Stephen Kavanaugh, Ph.D., and Derek Williamson, Ph.D. McCrary is with Hattemer, Hornsby and Bailey, Prattville, Ala.; Kavanaugh is a professor of mechanical engineering and Williamson is a professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Ala.

The ASHRAE Student Activities Achievement Award recognizes a Chapter Student Activities chair for service related to the goals and growth of student activities at all levels. The recipient is Jim Toda, technical specialist, Southern California Edison, Irwindale, Calif.

The Government Activities Award recognizes an ASHRAE chapter for outstanding effort and achievement in state, provincial, and local government activities in connection with technical issues related to the activities of the society. The recipient is the Puerto Rico Chapter.

The Environmental Health Award recognizes excellence in volunteer service focused on environmental health issues. This is the first time the award has been presented. The recipient is David Grimsrud, Ph.D., director of the Minnesota Building Research Center at the University of Minnesota, where he is a professor emeritus.


ASHRAE’s new officers and directors are:

• President Kent W. Peterson, P.E., vice president and chief engineer, P2S Engineering Inc., Long Beach, Calif.

• President-elect William A. Harrison, president, Trane Arkansas, Little Rock, Ark.

• Treasurer Gordon V.R. Holness, P.E., chairman emeritus, Albert Kahn Associates Inc., Detroit.

• Vice president Lynn G. Bellenger, P.E., partner, Pathfinder Engineers, Rochester, N.Y.

• Vice president Maureen Grasso, Ph.D., dean, Graduate School, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.

• Vice president Andrew Persily, Ph.D., group leader, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, Md.

• Vice president Vincent Tse, managing director, Parsons Brinckerhoff (Asia), Hong Kong.

ASHRAE will hold its 2008 Winter Meeting, Jan. 19-23 in New York, accompanied by the AHR Expo Jan. 22-24. For more information, visit www.ashrae.org/newyork.

Publication Date: 08/06/2007