WESTPORT, Conn. - Submissions are now being accepted for the 2007 AHR Expo Innovation Awards Program. The fifth annual competition is designed to encourage the development of new products that are both creative and useful, meet today's HVACR demands, and feature new technology that will have a significant impact on the residential, commercial, or industrial markets.

Sponsored by International Exposition Co. (IEC), the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), and the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI), the 2007 AHR Expo Innovation Awards competition seeks out products and solutions that meet today's complex energy challenges, offer innovative design, provide value, and have useful applications.

The panel of judges is made up of specially selected ASHRAE members who are knowledgeable about a wide variety of products. Submissions are made in nine product categories: Building Automation, Cooling, Green Building, Heating, Indoor Air Quality, Refrigeration, Software, Tools & Instruments, and Ventilation.

In addition to recognizing outstanding product innovation, the award program entry fees will be used to benefit local HVACR students in the Dallas area where the 2007 AHR Expo is being held. During the first four years of the program, thousands of dollars have been donated to HVACR technical school scholarship funds.

"The AHR Expo Innovation Awards program has a positive impact on the HVACR industry," said Clay Stevens, president of IEC, show producer and manager. "It calls attention to how successful manufacturers have been at turning new technology into useful and highly efficient products."

Winners of the AHR Expo Innovation awards will be recognized at an awards ceremony during the expo in Dallas, January 29-31.

The competition is open only to products that will be displayed at the 2007 AHR Expo and have not won a previous Innovation Award. Previous Honorable Mention winners can be submitted again. All entries must be received by Sept. 25, 2006. For more information on how to enter or to view the 2006 winners, go to www.ahrexpo.com/innovationawards or e-mail expoawards@ashrae.org. Winners will be notified in November 2006.

Publication date: 09/04/2006