ATLANTA - The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) has announced the recipients of 15 scholarships and one fellowship totaling $72,000 for the 2004-05 academic year.

The students, all pursuing courses leading to a career in the HVACR industry, received the following undergraduate scholarships:

Reuben Trane Scholarships: Mary Womack, Oklahoma State University, majoring in biosystems and agriculture engineering; Megan Christen, University of Colorado, architectural engineering; and Nathan Patrick, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering, each received a two-year $5,000 per year scholarship. The scholarship was established in 1991 when The Trane Co. established an endowment fund in memory of its founder.

The following one-year $3,000 scholarships were awarded:

Henry Adams Scholarship: Dustin Eplee, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established in 1998 by the consulting firm of Henry Adams Inc. in memory of its founder.

Duane Hanson Scholarship: Anthony Giglio, Louisiana State University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship's namesake was president of Gayer Engineering in San Francisco.

Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Tracey Nawrocki, Pennsylvania State University, architectural and HVAC engineering. The scholarship's namesake was an industry pioneer who was granted 219 patents and strived to provide knowledge to younger people in the industry.

Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: Michael Randolph, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship's namesake was a former ASHRAE vice president and a graduate of Tennessee Technological University.

ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship: Salome Balderrama, University of Texas-Austin, architectural engineering.

ASHRAE Scholarships: Ross Frederickson, Tri-State University, mechanical engineering, and Tamara Felts, Kansas State University, architectural engineering.

Memorial Scholarship: Nathan Weiderspahn, Grove City College, mechanical engineering.

ASHRAE Region IV Benny Bootle Scholarship: Bernard Meier, North Carolina State University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship's namesake was a former ASHRAE Region IV chairman and regional director.

Associate of Engineering Technology Scholarship: Joshua Arquiett, SUNY College of Technology, air conditioning technology.

Bachelor's Engineering Technology Scholarship: Chad Hamlin, University of Maine, mechanical engineering technology.

J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship: Brian Shamas, University of Pittsburgh, mechanical engineering. During his career, Mehalick, an ASHRAE member, oversaw development of air conditioning equipment used in commercial, military, aerospace, and transportation applications.

In addition, the Willis H. Carrier Graduate Research Fellowship was awarded to Chenzhou Lian, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. He received a one-year $21,000 fellowship.

ASHRAE has awarded 114 scholarships during the past 14 years. The scholarship program encourages and assists HVACR education through scholarships and fellowships.

For more information, visit the "Scholarships" shortcut at, or contact Lois Benedict at ASHRAE headquarters by e-mail at; telephone at 404-636-8400, ext. 1120; or mail at ASHRAE, 1791 Tullie Circle NE, Atlanta, GA 30329.

Publication date: 08/09/2004