SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Ted Heathorn, president of N.V. Heathorn in San Leandro, Calif., and a member of Bay Area SMACNA, is the new president of the California Association of Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors National Association (California SMACNA).

Heathorn stepped in as the 2003-2004 president at the conclusion of the association’s recent annual convention, held in Cancun, Mexico.

Don Jamarck, chief financial officer of Airco Mechanical Inc. in Sacramento, Calif., and a member of Sacramento SMACNA, was installed as president-elect. Don Prosser, chief financial officer of CANFAB Inc. in Corona, Calif., and a member of Orange Empire SMACNA, was installed as treasurer. Bill Edwards, president of MESA3 Inc. in San Jose, Calif., and a member of Bay Area SMACNA, was installed as secretary. Matthew Smith, vice president of Smith Heating & Air Conditioning in Stockton, Calif., and a member of Northern San Joaquin SMACNA, was installed as immediate past president.

Don Jamarck of Airco Mechanical Inc., (center) accepts a 2003 Distinguished Legislative Service Award from former California SMACNA president Matthew Smith (left), of Smith Heating and Air Conditioning. At far right is California SMACNA’s lobbyist Chris Walker, from Nossman, Guthner, Knox & Elliott, LLP.


In addition to the installation of new officers, a number of awards were handed out at the convention. Jim Jones, Don Jamarck, and Airco Mechanical each received a 2003 Distinguished Legislative Service Award. This is a newly established award created to recognize members who have supported California SMACNA’s legislative and regulatory agenda in various ways, including writing letters when requested and testifying before the legislature and regulatory hearings.

Airco Mechanical was selected because of its company-wide involvement to showcase the industry, with many employees volunteering to hosting over 300 high school students for job shadows and hosting four legislature shop visits.

Meanwhile, the 2003 Ed Banks Memorial Award for Contractor of the Year was presented to James Asbury, president of Bell Products Inc., located in Napa, Calif. Don Dennehy, Bay Area SMACNA president, accepted the award on Asbury’s behalf.

“James has devoted his time selflessly to many endeavors,” stated Dennehy. “It is an honor to accept this award on his behalf.”

Asbury has been active with SMACNA, California SMACNA, his local chapter, and other trade organizations. He was a member of the initial task force that established the California Coalition for Construction in the Classroom (CCCC) and instrumental in getting his chapter to fund the CCCC with an initial contribution of $50,000. He was also the 2002 SMACNA Legislative Contractor of the Year and was selected City of Napa, Calif. “Citizen of the Year” in 1999.

James Asbury was awarded the 2003 Ed Banks Memorial Award for Contractor of the Year at California SMACNA’s annual convention.

Safety, Too

California SMACNA also handed out its 2002 Safety Awards at the closing session. The first-place winners included:

  • Under 25,000 man-hours worked category — Air Control Balancing, Fresno.

  • 25,001 to 50,000 man-hours worked category — Wittler-Young Company Inc., Los Angeles.

  • 50,001 to 100,000 man-hours worked category — Van-Mulder Sheet Metal, San Leandro.

  • Over 100,000 man-hours worked category — Cal Air Inc., Whittier.

    Each of the first place winners received a check for $250, along with a plaque.

    Publication date: 06/16/2003