DES PLAINES, IL — The Refrigeration Service Engineers Society (RSES) honored the following individuals and organizations at its annual awards luncheon on Oct. 23, 2002, at the 65th RSES annual conference in Las Vegas, NV.

The Paul B. Reed Award, which recognizes RSES chapters with exceptional educational programs, was presented to the Southeastern Iowa Chapter (Burlington, IA) and the Hill County Chapter (Kerrville, TX). The Souris Chapter (Minot, ND) was recognized in the small chapter category, the Central Missouri Chapter (Jefferson City, MO) was recognized in the medium chapter category, and the Greater Toledo Chapter (Toledo, OH) was honored in the large chapter category.

The John Spence Award was presented to members who achieved the highest grade within the past year on the Certification Member (CM) exam. Recipients are Michael A. Korte, CM (Cincinnati, OH); Joel D. Krause, CM (Fargo, ND); and Gregory J. McKendall, CM (New Orleans, LA).

The Imperial Award was presented to the Certificate Members with the highest grade on a Specialist Examination during the past year. Winners are: Thomas B. Demko, CMS (Hartford, CT); Scott M. Fiorito, CMS (Rochester, NY); Richard D. Blank, CMS (Toledo, OH); Ratib Baker, CMS (Baltimore, MD); Scott J. Sligowski, CMS (Chicago, IL); and Harlan “Skip” Krepcik, CMS (Norfolk, VA).

Krepcik and Blank were also recognized with the Wayburn Wilson, CMS Memorial Award for attaining all categories of the Certificate Member Specialist classifications.

The Midwest Region Auxiliary was re-cognized with the “To Make Life Worthwhile” award, which goes to an individual or group that has provided nonsectarian, nonpolitical community service.

Publication date: 12/23/2002