• International Service Leadership (ISL) (Brentwood, TN) has named its 2001 Contractors of the Year. They are: Jerry Price, Big Sand Heating & AC (Lowmansville, KY); Leland Smith, Service Champions Heating & AC (Yorba Linda, CA); Lee Painter/Tim Schmid, Schmid’s Service Now (Wooster, OH); Rick Houchens, Chief/Bauer Heating & AC (Champaign, IL); and Joseph Vergo, Marco Cooling & Refrigeration (Marco Island, FL).
  • Encompass Mechanical Services — Central Florida (Orlando, FL) has appointed David E. Westrich, P.E., to the position of director of Construction Services.
  • John Mahoney, president of CMS Viron Energy Services (Overland Park, KS), has been elected president of the National Association of Energy Service Companies (NAESCO) (Washington, DC). For more information, go to www.cmsenergy.com (website).
  • The Michigan Department of Consumer & Industry Services (Lansing, MI) selected five builders to receive a Five Star Home Grant to build an energy-efficient house. The recipients were R.F.B. Home Builders (Holly, MI), Coulter Builders, LLC (Okemos, MI), Country Construction, Inc. (Roscommon, MI), Pant Builders, Inc. (Belmont, MI), and Walloon Lake Properties, LLC (Walloon Lake, MI).

    Publication date: 03/18/2002