DAYTON, Ohio — Emerson announced the five recipients of The Helix Innovation Scholarships at the University of Dayton. Awards were presented to students in engineering, business, and the arts with demonstrated skills and enthusiasm in creative thinking, innovation, and problem-solving.

Each student was presented a $10,000 scholarship from Emerson. Emerson will also assign each student a mentor to help guide their interest in innovation and support their education and growth.

The five scholarship recipients were recognized at The Helix Innovation Center on the University of Dayton campus earlier this month.

“Through the mentor relationships, our staff can stay engaged with young, creative minds,” said Rajan Rajendran, vice president of system innovation and sustainability for Emerson’s Commercial & Residential Solutions platform. “We’re excited to partner with the University of Dayton to collaborate, inspire and help grow the future workforce.”

The Helix Innovation 2019 Scholarships were awarded to the following University of Dayton students:


Dejuan A. Marion               Computer Engineering                 3rd year               Bedford, OH

Vivian M. Mota                   Mechanical Engineering             2nd  year               Melrose Park, IL

Adriana Paonessa             Industrial Engineering                  2nd year               Coto Laurel, Puerto Rico

Leigh Roberts                    Pre-Med                                        4th year               Noblesville, IN

Mike Sundermeier             Marketing                                      4th year               Palos Park, IL

Submit a press release here!