Danfoss’s EnVisioneer of the Year competition seeks to promote innovation, energy efficiency, and environmental sustainability by recognizing actions that reduce energy consumption, CO2 emissions, and oil consumption.

This year’s competition is open to North American end users, building owners, municipalities, equipment manufacturers, and contractors who have introduced a new product, opened a new facility, or invested in a building or system upgrade using Danfoss products or solutions to realize significant energy or environmental savings.

The award recognizes a commitment to core Danfoss values, including:

  • Engineering solutions that improve performance and profitability;
  • Energy efficiency that meets higher standards and lower operating costs;
  • Environmental sustainability that provides a financial and social payback; and
  • Engaged partnerships that foster quality, reliability, and innovation.

Participating companies/organizations must show, through measurable data, how the project increased energy efficiency and reduced the carbon footprint of their building, plant, facility, or product. They also must describe the type of Danfoss equipment used in the project, facility, or new product. There is no entry fee, and entries will be judged by an independent panel of distinguished experts representing various disciplines.

To request an application, contact LisaTryson@Danfoss.com. The deadline to submit an application is May 30, 2019.

Additionally, ASHRAE and UN Environment are accepting entries for a jointly established international award program to promote the innovative designs, research, and practices of low-GWP alternative refrigerants and related technologies.

The Lower-GWP Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Innovation Award recognizes people who have developed or implemented innovative technological concepts applied in developing countries to innovative designs, research, and practices that minimize GWP through refrigerant management.

“We look forward to seeing entries from innovators who are committed to sustainability through the development and implementation of a new generation of low-GWP efficient solutions,” said current ASHRAE president, Sheila J. Hayter.

First Place and Honorable Citation awards will be made in two categories — residential applications and commercial/industrial facilities. The winners in each category will be selected based on innovative solutions for designs, practice, or research using lower-GWP technologies. The selection will take into account the following criteria:

  • Extent of need;
  • Innovative aspects in transforming conventional practices;
  • Technical replicability to developing countries; and
  • Economy feasibility to developing countries.

Entries for the 2019 awards will be accepted until May 15, 2019. Winning projects will be publicized by both organizations, and first place recipients will receive a stipend to receive their award at a UN Environment event. For more information, visit ashrae.org/lowergwp.

Publication date: 3/5/2019

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!