WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced the winners of its 2017 Housing Innovation Awards. This year's winners include 26 homes across 5 housing categories, including  affordable homes, multifamily homes, production homes, custom homes for buyers, custom homes (spec), and 24 builders from across the country.

Grand prize winners for each category were selected by a distinguished group of national experts and were announced at the 2017 Housing Innovation Awards Ceremony at the Energy and Environmental Building Alliance's High Performance Home Summit in Atlanta.

Homes receive this award by meeting the rigorous technical requirements of the DOE's Zero Energy Ready Home program. Homes earning this recognition are so energy efficient that they are able to produce as much energy as they use with a small, renewable energy system, such as solar, and offer better indoor air quality and long-term durability.

"Housing Innovation Award winners represent the top 1 percent of builders across the country who successfully demonstrate they can meet the federal government's most rigorous specifications for high-performance homes," said Sam Rashkin, chief architect, the DOE's Building Technologies Office. "Zero energy ready homes are designed to provide a whole new level of homeowner experience including ultra-low utility bills, ensured comfort, comprehensive water protection, whole-house fresh air delivery, high-capture filtration, contaminant control, and enhanced durability.

“These winners are leading a national movement to zero energy ready homes, providing better places for Americans to live, stronger communities, and a more economically and environmentally resilient nation," Rashkin continued.

A complete list of the 2017 Housing Innovation Award winners is provided below along with the location of the winning homes. Visit the DOE's website to learn more about the awards. Winning homes from previous years can be viewed on the DOE Tour of Zero.


2017 Housing Innovation Award Winners

Winners for Innovation in Affordable Homes

Capstone Homes, Flagstaff, Arizona;

Habitat for Humanity of Catawba Valley, Hickory, North Carolina; and

United Way of Long Island, Huntington Station, New York.


Winners for Innovation in Custom Homes (For Buyer)

Alliance Green Builders, Ramona, California;

BPC Green Builders, Staatsburg, New York;

Clifton View Homes Inc., Anacortes, Washington;

Ferrier Custom Homes, Dallas;

Garden State Modular, Lavallette, New Jersey;

High Performance Homes, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania;

Imery & Co., Chamblee, Georgia;

SD Jessup Construction, Tobaccoville, North Carolina; and

Mantell-Hecathorn Builders, Durango, Colorado.


Winners for Innovation in Custom Homes (Spec)

Addison Homes, Greenville, South Carolina;

Amaris Homes, Afton, Minnesota;

BrightLeaf Homes, Brookfield, Illinois;

Charis Homes, Uniontown, Ohio;

Greenhill Contracting, Gardiner, New York; and

Thornhill Custom Homes, Dallas.


Winners for Innovation in Multifamily Homes

Revive Properties, Fort Collins, Colorado; and

Thrive Home Builders, Lone Tree, Colorado.


Winners for Innovation in Production Homes

Charles Thomas Homes, Omaha, Nebraska;

Garbett Construction, Sandy, Utah;

Health-E Community Enterprise, Richmond, Virginia;

Mandalay Homes, Prescott, Arizona;

Revive Properties, Fort Collins, Colorado; and

Thrive Home Builders, Denver, Colorado.

For more information, visit http://bit.ly/DOE-HIA.

Publication date: 11/30/17

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join Distribution Center on Facebook and Twitter today!