INDIANAPOLIS — Carrier Corp. distributors nationwide have identified the recipients of their annual college scholarship and awarded grants this year totaling nearly $40,000.

Each year, the Carrier & Bryant Distributors’ Education Foundation disperses 25 scholarships to outstanding students who are the children of Carrier and Bryant dealers.

Carrier and Bryant are a part of UTC Climate, Controls & Security, a unit of United Technologies Corp.

“In addition to their roles as heating and cooling experts, Carrier and Bryant distributors and dealers invest in their communities and provide these scholarships to students of the next generation to help them succeed,” said David Meyers, vice president, sales, Carrier. “We’re proud of our distributors as they support the aspirations of these talented students.”

The Carrier & Bryant Distributors’ Education Foundation has awarded approximately $500,000 to 355 outstanding students since 1998, when it began as the Blees Scholarship, in honor of the late William A. Blees, who served as a longtime adviser to Carrier and Bryant distributors. Following his passing, Carrier and Bryant heating and cooling equipment distributors established the foundation in Blees' honor.

Students receive scholarships based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, leadership potential, and personal motivation. Applications are screened by a professional scholarship administration firm, which also reviews candidates’ short essays about their educational and career aspirations.

The 2016 scholarship recipients include: Precious Adams, Crookston, Minnesota; Mika Awai, Napa, California; Daniel Bean, Walpole, Massachusetts; Isaac Carter, Wasca, Minnesota; Mitchell Clune, Coldwater, Ohio; Chelsea Hammond, Rehoboth, Massachusetts; James Harmon; Holt, Missouri; Olivia Herron, Greenville, Ohio; Brooke Herschleb, Sauk City, Wisconsin; Samantha Horn, Adams, Massachusetts; Kate Kennelly, Melrose, New York; Trenton Koeper, Upland, California; Morgan Lancaster, Hendersonville, North Carolina; Austin McHenry, Phoenix; Avery McNeill, Florala, Alabama; Braden Meadows, Kingston, Georgia; Colleen Mock, Quincy, Illinois; Jantzen Nakai, Honolulu; Amber O’Brien, Woodford, Vermont; Stephanie Pope, Owens Crossroads, Alabama; Lauren Reed, Emma, Missouri; Isaiah Roepe, Emma, Missouri; Zachary Thornton, Woodstock, Illinois; Devon Watts, Winter Haven, Florida; and Kaci Whitehead, Syracuse, Indiana. For more information, visit