ARLINGTON, Va. The Clifford H. "Ted" Rees, Jr. Scholarship Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI), and the Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA), announced scholarship awards totaling $55,000 to 35 students, including six veterans, studying to become technicians in the HVACR and water heating industry.

"We are pleased to award scholarships to these qualified and dedicated students and veterans and hope to eventually welcome them into the industry," said AHRI President and CEO, Stephen Yurek. "Each year, the foundation provides aid to an increasing number of recipients, helping to promote careers in the industry and fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced."

"Developing quality workers is a critical initiative that everyone in our industry is working together to accomplish," said ACCA President and CEO, Paul T. Stalknecht. "We are proud to partner with the Rees Scholarship Foundation and AHRI to give these hard-working students and veterans scholarships to help them continue their education, which will develop into a strong workforce for our industry's future."


Leopoldo Avila, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, California)                                                                                                                       Andrew Boeger, Blackhawk Technical College (Janesville, Wisconsin)                                                                                                                       Gabriel Botteselle, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, California)                                                                                                                       Jacob Colby, Manchester Community College (Manchester, Connecticut)                                                                                                                 Dillon Daigle, Tulsa Technology (Tulsa, Oklahoma)                                                                                                                                           Adam Davis, Intercoast College (Rancho Cordova, California)                                                                                                                             Joshua Enciso Trevino, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, California)                                                                                                                 Johnnie Estes, Great Oaks - Diamond Oaks (Cincinnati, Ohio)                                                                                                                                 Michael Falcon, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, California)                                                                                                                           Heather Gimble, College of the Desert (Palm Desert, California)                                                                                                                               Steven Harlow, Triangle Tech (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)                                                                                                                                         Daniel Jackson, Bevill State Community College (Sumiton, Alabama)                                                                                                                       Scott Johnson, Front Range Community College (Westminster, Colorado)                                                                                                                 John Laucella, Fortis College (Norfolk, Virginia)                                                                                                                                                 John Leija, Vernon College (Vernon, Texas)                                                                                                                                                             Ethan Lietz, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Michigan)                                                                                                                                 Leo Mooney, Moore Norman Technology Center (Norman, Oklahoma)                                                                                                                   Michael Moore, Galveston College (Galveston, Texas)                                                                                                                                             Troy Morgan, Washburn Tech (Topeka, Kansas)                                                                                                                                              Noel Njoku, Prince George's Community College (Upper Marlboro, Maryland)                                                                                                     Nathan Pawley, OSU Institute of Technology (Okmulgee, Oklahoma)                                                                                                             Michael Reyes Gomez, College of the Desert (Palm Desert, California)                                                                                                                     Drew Miles Russell Scott, InterCoast College (Roseville, California)                                                                                                                       Joseph De Santiago, Southwestern Oklahoma State University (Weatherford, Oklahoma)                                                                                           David Savard, Washburn Tech (Topeka, Kansas)                                                                                                                                                 Michael Sullivan, Dunwoody College of Technology (Minneapolis, Minnesota)                                                                                                       Alexander Thomas, Brownson Technical School (Anaheim, California)                                                                                                               Mary Volz, University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton (Morrilton, Arkansas)


Junior Aristhilde, Sheridan Technical School (Hollywood, Florida)                                                                                                                             Jarred Gordon, Refrigeration School, Inc. (Phoenix, Arizona)                                                                                                                                 Herman Marques, Houston Community College (Houston, Texas)                                                                                                                     Frank Moore, Kilgore College (Kilgore, Texas)                                                                                                                                             Kenneth Weeks, Fayetteville Technical College (Fayetteville, North Carolina)                                                                                                     Arturo Zamudio, San Joaquin Valley College (Temecula, California)

Since its founding in 2003, the Rees Scholarship Foundation has awarded more than $550,000 in scholarships to 330 deserving students and instructors.

For a list of past scholarship recipients, click here.

Publication date: 1/23/2017

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!