INDIANAPOLIS — Each year, the Carrier & Bryant Distributors’ Education Foundation awards 25 scholarships to outstanding students who are the children of Carrier and Bryant dealers.

Carrier distributors from around the country identified the recipients of their annual college scholarship and awarded grants totaling nearly $40,000.

“In addition to their roles as heating and cooling experts, Carrier distributors and dealers are dedicated to building value in their communities,” said David Meyers, vice president of sales at Carrier. “We’re proud to support them as they help to make possible the educational dreams of these 25 students.”

The Carrier & Bryant Distributors’ Education Foundation has awarded nearly $500,000 to 315 outstanding students since 1998, when it began as the Blees Scholarship in honor of the late William A. Blees, who served as a longtime adviser to Carrier and Bryant distributors. Following Blees’ passing, Carrier and Bryant heating and cooling equipment distributors established the foundation in his honor.

The students are recognized based on academic achievement, extracurricular activity, leadership potential, and personal motivation. Applications are screened by a professional scholarship administration firm, which also reviews each candidate’s short educational and career aspirations essay.

The 2015 scholarship recipients are: Cody Albrecht, Norborne, Missouri; Tanner Butler, Morrisonville, Illinois; Samuel Cobb, Golden, Colorado; Nicole Dusanek, Cave Creek, Arizona; Berkely Frend, San Antonio; Nicholas Gentry, Asheville, North Carolina; Scott Haffner, Murphy, Texas; James Harmon, Holt, Missouri; Thomas Kita, Schofield, Wisconsin; Trenton Koeper, Upland, California; Ryan Kremer, Wapakoneta, Ohio; Willow Larson, Vancouver, Washington; Kelsey Marks, Naperville, Illinois; Sylvana Marquina, Concord, California; Sarah Marshall, Tipp City, Ohio; Austin McHenry, Phoenix; Collen Mock, Quincy, Illinois; Abigail Nash, Macon, Georgia; Jarod Prescott, Cambridge, Wisconsin; Lauren Pringle, Port Huron, Michigan; Lauren Reed, Waukee, Iowa; Ciara Schwarz, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin; Thomas St. John, Kaukauna, Wisconsin; Alejandro Trevino, San Antonio; and Alyssa Wenger, Lancaster, Ohio.

Publication date: 10/05/2015 

Want more HVAC industry news and information? Join The NEWS on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn today!