ARLINGTON, Va. — The Clifford H. “Ted” Rees Jr., Scholarship Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation of the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI), announced the recipients of $20,500 in scholarship funds to nine students studying HVACR and water-heating trades, three instructors, and one student who applied via the new returning veterans program.

“Louis Alexander is the first scholarship recipient in our returning veterans program, and we are very proud to support him as he begins a new career in our industry,” said Stephen Yurek, president and CEO, AHRI. “These students are a shining example of the qualified, dedicated HVACR and water-heating technicians we need to fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced, and the instructors we need to support and educate them.”

Among the students honored are: Richard Driesen, Perry Technical Institute; Daniel Gretschmann, Blackhawk Technical College; David Hall, Athens Technical College; Joshua Hall, Ferris State University; Chris Johnson, San Joaquin Valley College; Eric Johnson, Ferris State University; Ryan Johnson, Ferris State University; Jason Olson, Grand Rapids Community College; and Chris Perez, Los Angeles Trade Technical College.

The three instructors include: Floyd Azbell, Worcester Technical High School; Luther Knouse, SCI Rockview; and Travis Snowden, Meridian Technology Center.

The Rees Scholarship Foundation has awarded more than $200,000 in scholarships to 121 students and instructors since its inception in 2003.

Publication date: 4/15/2013