DALLAS — Forty people were recognized by ASHRAE for their contributions to the society and the building industry at the society’s 2013 Winter Conference held Jan. 26-30. The F. Paul Anderson award, the society’s highest honor, is awarded for notable achievement of outstanding services performed in the HVACR field. This year’s recipient was presidential member Richard Rooley.

Wilbert F. Stoeker, Ph.D., was inducted into the Hall of Fame, which honors deceased members of the society who made milestone contributions to the growth of HVACR technology.

A new recognition from ASHRAE, the Pioneers of the Industry award, honors deceased individuals who have made milestone contributions to the growth of air conditioning, heating, refrigeration, and ventilation. This year’s recipients were Gilbert Carlson, 1922-1994, who worked with hydronic systems, and William E. Fontaine, 1905-1993, who established the Ray W. Herrick Laboratories at Purdue University.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade that recognizes distinction in the arts and sciences of environmental technology and is earned through achievement as a researcher, designer, educator, or engineering executive. The Society elevated these members to the grade of Fellow ASHRAE:

Barney Capehart, Ph.D.; Dale Carter; Mark Fly; Glenn Friedman; Raymond Horstman; William McQuade; B.J. Melton; Ross Montgomery; William Rose; and N. Vaidyanathan.

The ASHRAE Technology award recognizes outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs, which incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and IAQ. Six projects received first-place ASHRAE Technology awards: C-K Joseph Tai, P.E., Stantec Consulting, Inc. San Francisco, received first place in the new commercial buildings category for the research support facility, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Golden, Colo. Tai and his team also received the Engineering Excellence award for their project. The recognition is given to the most outstanding project receiving a first-place Technology award. It has only been awarded two other times, in 2000 and 2005.

Shawn Oram, Ecotope Inc., Seattle, received first place in the existing Commercial Buildings category for Rice Fergus Miller Office and Studio, Bremerton, Wash.

Mark Koller, P.E., Interface Engineering, Portland, Ore., received first place in the New Educational Facilities category for the design of the Portland State University Academic and Student Recreation Center.

Jonathan Heller, P.E., Ecotope Inc., Seattle, received first place in the New Other Institutional Facilities category for the design of the Eastside Fire and Rescue Station 72, Issaquah, Wash.

Jeremy McClanathan, P.E., ASHRAE-certified building energy modeling and healthcare facility design professional, CDi Engineers, Lynnwood, Wash., received first place in the New Healthcare Facilities category for the Swedish Issaquah Hospital, Issaquah, Wash.

André-Benôit Allard, Eng., Ecosystem, Québec City, Québec, Canada, received first place in the Existing Public Assembly category for the Montréal Biodôme in Quebec, Canada.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of students to create an integrated sustainable building design, select HVACR systems or perform HVAC system design calculations for the newly constructed Joe and Rika Mansueto Library located in Chicago. First place in HVAC System Design Calculations was awarded to John Bisacquino, Josh Dennis, and Travis Westover of Temple University. First place in HVAC System Selection was awarded to Alaina Booth, Adam Buck, Jami Harper, John May, and Patrick MacBride of the University of Nebraska. First place in Integrated Sustainable Building Design was awarded to Dustin Altschul, Prathamesh Chakradeo, Ravik Chandra, Saikrishna Ganesan, Timothy Hertel, Varun Krishnan, and Charles Stratton of the University of Cincinnati.

The Refrigeration Comfort Cooling award recognizes innovative and/or new technologies in comfort cooling applications and was awarded to Eric M. Fullerton.

The E.K. Campbell award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators and is presented by the ASHRAE Life Members Club. The recipient was Michel Bernier, Ph.D.

The John F. James International award is given to an ASHRAE member who has done the most to enhance the society’s international presence. The recipient was Roberto Aguilo.

The ASHRAE award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes ASHRAE members who have performed outstanding public service in their community and, in doing so, have helped to improve the public image of the engineer. It was awarded to Harold Lewis.

Publication date: 2/18/2013