MILWAUKEE — Children of A.O. Smith Corp. employees earned an A.O. Smith Merit scholarship for 2012.

A total of 19 scholarships were awarded to the sons and daughters of A.O. Smith Corp. employees in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Europe, China, and India. Recipients are selected based on their academic record, participation in school and community activities, work experience, and honors.

To be considered, the student must be a graduating high school senior or currently enrolled in an undergraduate college or vocational school degree program. Scholarships help cover a portion of the tuition costs at an accredited two-year or four-year college, or vocational technical school of the student’s choice. The company awards scholarships annually which may be renewed for up to three additional years or until the recipient earns a bachelor’s degree.

Winners included: Erin Bandle, Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville, Tenn.; Amy Bartos, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, Minn.; Lauren Bone, Union University, Jackson, Tenn.; Sarah Buchanan, Conestoga College, Cambridge, Ontario, Canada; Emily Dean, University of Tennessee of Chattanooga, Chattanooga, Tenn.; Lauren Fink, Conestoga College, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada; Braden Green, Mohawk College, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada; Caitlin Isgett, University of South Carolina, Columbia, S.C.; Jennifer Knoeppel, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wis.; Yibo Li, Shanghai Finance University, Shanghai, China; Madison Nyikes, Saint Louis University, Saint Louis; Lisa Rye, Austin Peay State University, Clarksville, Tenn.; Cecilia Salinas, Universidad Pedagogica Nacional, Juarez, Mexico; Morgan Thompson, Bryan College, Dayton, Tenn.; Mina Vedut, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada; Juan Carlos Vera Martinez, Universidad Autonoma de Queretaro, Queretaro, Mexico; Song Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology, Beijing, China; Martha Wells, Milligan College, Milligan, Tenn.; and Yucheng Yang, Jiangsu University of Science and Technology, Zhenjiang, China.

Publication date: 9/17/2012