The National Association of Oil & Energy Service Professionals (formerly the National Association of Oil-Heating Service Managers) held its 58th Annual Convention and Trade Show May 22-26, 2011 in Hershey, Pa. This year’s theme was Christmas in May and the association celebrated the many charitable things its members do for their customers and neighborhoods throughout the year.

The week kicked off on Sunday with Honeywell’s Rebuilding Together program. Members of the association volunteered at Camp Sertoma, a nonprofit summer camp for people of all ages with developmental disabilities. They helped prepare the camp for summer.

On Monday, attendees had educational opportunities, as well as a chance to enjoy the great outdoors. Golfers raised nearly $7,000 for the Dave Nelsen Scholarship. Participants in the Care to Ride event supported OESP’s charity, Oil Heat Cares. They rode motorcycles, bicycles, walked, and ran, raising nearly $60,000. In the evening, all attendees enjoyed a complimentary reception, co-hosted by the association and ITT and Bell & Gossett.

Tuesday began with NAOHSM’s board of directors and general membership meeting. Directors and members agreed upon the association’s new name: the National Association of Oil and Energy Service Professionals (OESP). Attendees enjoyed complimentary education sessions thanks to NAOHSM’s many education sponsors. Then, at 11:00 a.m., the sold-out trade show opened its doors. The floor was packed throughout the day and the show drew an increase of 18 percent.

On Tuesday evening, the association recognized industry achievers at their annual awards banquet. Prior to the banquet, attendees enjoyed a Taco-sponsored cocktail party. Winners this year included Joe Boyle (Service Manager of the Year), Ralph Adams (Instructor of the Year), Bob Perotto (Lou Ehrich Award), Honeywell (Manufacturer of the Year), President George McQueeney (Hugh McKee Award), and Michael Szentesy (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Students were also recognized with six $5,000 scholarships. The recipients were Alrick Crowe (Honeywell/NAOHSM award), Joshua Holohan (R.E. Michel/NAOHSM award), Austin Gray (Weil-McLain/NAOHSM award), Wyatt Runciman (James McComas/NAOHSM award), Michael Kimmel (Delavan/NAOHSM award), and Joseph Ackerman (Taco/NAOHSM award).

The third-annual Technician of the Year competition resulted in Ed Postol (Woolley Fuel of Maplewood, N.J.) taking home the bragging rights. Carl Graf (Petro of Hicksville, N.Y.) was the runner up.

On Wednesday, attendees took advantage of additional classes in the morning and afternoon, as well as time at the trade show. In the evening, Grundfos co-sponsored the association’s annual Theme Night Party. Participants enjoyed a festive evening complete with Santa and Mrs. Claus, gifts, and a visit by the Marines who picked up the toys from the association’s 2011 Toys for Tots campaign.

For more information, visit or

Publication date:08/01/2011