At the 41st Annual General Meeting of the Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada (HRAI), held in St. John’s, Newfoundland, various appointments were made and awards presented.

Gerry Cellucci, vice president of Yorkland Controls was appointed chair of HRAI. The 2009-2010 HRAI board of directors are Mark Boncardo (past chair), Ineos Fluor Canada Inc., Toronto; Mike Latreille (vice chair), Holmes Heating Inc., Ottawa; Rusty Jennings (secretary-treasurer), president sales residential, Carrier Canada Ltd., Mississauga, Ontario; David Morden, ECR International Ltd. – Olsen Division, Wallaceburg, Ontario; Ron Robinson, AtlasCare, Oakville, Ontario; Keith Werner, Independent Supply Company, Burnaby, British Columbia; and Warren Heeley (president of HRAI), Mississauga, Ontario.

Michael Latreille, was appointed chair of the Contractors Division. The other members of the division’s executive committee are Nancy McKeraghan (past chair), Canco ClimateCare, Newmarket, Ontario; Ron Robinson (vice chair); Marc Gendron (secretary-treasurer), Les Enterprises MLG at Fils Inc., Montréal; and Dave Derksen, Tech-Air Ltd., Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Rusty Jennings was appointed chair of the HRAI Manufacturers Division. The division’s 2009-2010 board of directors are Mark Boncardo (past chair); David Morden (vice-chair and Heating & Air Conditioning Product Section chair); Jim Flowers (secretary treasurer and Refrigeration Product section chair), Linde Canada, Aurora, Ontario; Rob Ferris (Indoor Air Quality Product section vice chair), Fantech Ltd., London, Ontario; Jim Garrett (Controls Product Section vice chair), Taco (Canada) Ltd., Milton, Ontario; Roger Gripton (Gas Hearth Interest Group), Wolf Steel Ltd., Barrie, Ontario; Dennis Kozina (Refrigeration Product Section vice chair), Emerson Climate Technologies Canada, Brantford, Ontario; Dave McPherson (Heating & Air Conditioning Product Section vice chair), Rheem Canada, Hamilton, Ontario; Scott Stevens (Indoor Air quality Product section chair), Broan-NuTone-Venmar, Mississauga, Ontario.

Keith Werner was appointed chair of the HRAI Wholesalers Division. The other board of directors are Gerry Cellucci (past chair), Yorkland Controls, Toronto; John Bonus (vice chair), Wolseley Canada Inc., Frontier-Wolseley HVAC/R Group, Mississauga, Ontario; Peter Henderson (secretary treasurer), Kerr Controls Ltd., Truro, Nova Scotia; Peter Olierook (director), Don Park Limited Partnership, North York, Ontario; and Francine Normand (director), Almacorp Inc., Montréal.

Mark Boncardo received the HRAI Manufacturers Distinguished Service Award for his dedication and commitment to the Manufacturers Division and the Canadian industry.

The Merit Award, which recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development and progress of HRAI and the Canadian HVACR industry were given to Dennis Larson, Refrigerative Supply, Burnaby, British Columbia, and Nancy McKeraghan.

The Life Member Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to the association and Canadian HVACR industry for more than 20 years. It went to Bengt Sormon, Trane Canada, Scarborough, Ontario.

Recognizing a significant contribution to HRAI and the industry during the preceding year or years, the President’s Recognition was bestowed on Bruce Shaw, Trane Canada.

The Education Leader award recognizes companies and individuals for ongoing leadership in support of HRAI’s educational activities. The award was given to Kerr Controls, Refrigerative Supply, and to Rex Cotter, St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Publication date:10/12/2009