WASHINGTON - Johnson Controls Inc. and the United States Energy Association (USEA) will honor 22 leaders who have dedicated their careers to energy efficiency at the inaugural Energy Efficiency Forum Hall of Fame event on June 15 at 6:30 p.m. at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. It precedes the 20th Anniversary of the Energy Efficiency Forum - the first such event of its type to convene highâ€'ranking politicians, business leaders, and NGOs to promote energy efficiency. The forum takes place the following day at the National Press Club.

“Looking back over two decades we have seen many promises, policies, and strategies in dealing with our energy challenges,” said Barry K. Worthington, USEA executive director and forum co-chair. “We believe it’s appropriate to honor those who make energy efficiency their personal and professional passion.”

The inductees include Spencer Abraham, former U.S. Secretary of Energy; Kateri Callahan, president, Alliance to Save Energy; Eileen Claussen, president, Pew Center on Global Climate Change and Strategies for the Global Environment; Douglas Decker, founder, Energy Efficiency Forum; Byron Dorgan, U.S. Senator, North Dakota; Christine Ervin, former president, U.S. Green Buildings Council; David Garman, former Under Secretary of Energy; John Gibbons, first director, U.S. Office of Energy Conservation; Mark Ginsberg, former director, Federal Energy Management Program; Kathleen Hogan, director, Climate Protection Partnerships Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; Alexander “Andy” Karsner, former assistant secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy; Thomas Kuhn, president, Edison Electric Institute; Tom Leppert, former CEO of Turner Construction, mayor of Dallas; Greg Nichols, mayor of Seattle; Hazel O’Leary, former U.S. Secretary of Energy, president, Fisk University; Dan Reicher, former assistant secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable energy, director, Climate Change and Energy Initiatives, Google.org.; James Rogers, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Duke Energy; Philip Sharp, former U.S. Congressman, Indiana; president, Resources for the Future; Branko Terzic, former Federal Energy Regulatory commissioner, regulatory policy leader energy & resources, Deloitte Services LP; Christine Whitman, former governor of New Jersey, former EPA administrator; and Timothy E. Wirth, former U.S. Senator, Colorado, president, United Nations Foundation.

For more information, visit www.eeforum.net.

Publication date:06/15/2009