WEST CONSHOHOCKEN, Pa. - ASTM International is seeking nominations for the William T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award, which is granted to a person of widely recognized eminence in the standards system who has made extraordinary contributions to the field of national and international voluntary standards. Established in 1987, the award honors William T. Cavanaugh, who served as the 1970-85 CEO of ASTM.

Nominees may or may not be members of ASTM International. The title of honorary member is bestowed upon recipients who are non-ASTM members. Nominations should describe each candidate’s qualifications as completely as possible. Each nomination package should also include relevant information about the candidate’s professional background; outstanding contributions made within ASTM International and other standards organizations or professional societies; and all offices and special positions held in each organization.

In addition, any of the candidate’s accomplishments to advance the efforts of the global standards community should be specifically identified, including standards interaction with governments, industry, or academia, as well as any past honors, citations, and awards that relate to voluntary standards. No more than two individuals will be selected for the Cavanaugh award in a single year.

The submission deadline is April 1. Nominations should be sent to the Executive Committee, c/o the President’s Office, ASTM International, 100 Barr Harbor Dr., P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19428.

For more information, contact Maureen Houck, ASTM International, at 610-832-9594, or e-mail her at mhouck@astm.org.

Publication date:02/11/2008