VICTORIA, British Columbia - Mike Latreille, chair of the Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractors of Canada (HRAC), presented two inaugural recognition awards for outstanding leadership within the HRAC community during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at the Delta Ocean Pointe Resort & Spa in Victoria, British Columbia.

Neil Smith, Arvin Air Systems, Stoney Creek, Ontario, past chair of HRAC, was the recipient of the Craig McCarty Memorial Award. This award is given to HRAC members who have shown outstanding leadership and dedication to the HVACR contracting industry in Canada by volunteering to serve in leadership roles with HRAC. The award is named in memory of Craig McCarty, who was the first chair of HRAC and a founding member of the HRAC Essex/Kent/Lambton Chapter. McCarty’s vision for and dedication to the formation of HRAC as a distinct entity within HRAI helped to make the contractor association what it is today.

According to HRAC, Smith was honored for being instrumental in developing HRAC into a pre-eminent contractor association and he continues to provide ongoing support to members within the HVACR community.

John Murphy, of J.E. Murphy Heating, LaSalle, Ontario, is the first recipient of the Gearld Inch Award for Chapter Leadership. This award is given out to recognize the special efforts of those volunteers who have been instrumental in keeping chapters and local/regional groups viable and meaningful to members. Gearld Inch is a founding member of the London Region HRAC Association and has been a member for over 25 years. His longstanding contribution to the chapter and the membership at large included his commitment to and support for education programs at the chapter level. He has been honored with the HRAI Merit Award and a Lifetime Membership for his contributions to the development of HRAI and the Canadian HVACR industry. Murphy has been a longstanding executive member of the Essex/Kent/Lambton Chapter of Ontario. When McCarty passed away, Murphy devoted his time to carrying on the function of the chapter including developing innovative networking opportunities for the members in southwestern Ontario.

For more information, contact Glenda Mulligan at

Publication date:10/22/2007