ARLINGTON, Va. — Paula Pogge of Council Bluffs, Iowa, and Daniel Kent Parker of Snyder, Texas, have been awarded the first two scholarships from the Clifford H. “Ted” Rees Jr. Scholarship Foundation, which encourages students to seek careers in the HVACR industry.

Pogge, a graduate of Thomas Jefferson High School in Council Bluffs, is a student at Vatterott College in Omaha, Neb. Parker graduated from Snyder High School and attends Texas State Technical College in Sweetwater, Texas.

The scholarship is named for Clifford H. “Ted” Rees Jr., who served as president of the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI) from 1994 through 2001. The purpose of the scholarship is to promote the HVACR industry and to supply companies with qualified, competent employees.

The deadline for the next round of scholarships is Nov. 1, 2003. Students are eligible if they attend, or plan to attend, an HVACR training program at an institutionally accredited school.

Applicants must complete a form documenting their prior education, work history/military service, and include two letters of recommendation and a 150-word essay on why they should be awarded a scholarship.

Students can get an application and guidelines for the scholarship by going to

Publication date: 08/18/2003