ATLANTA — Twenty-five students are receiving nearly $130,000 in financial assistance for the 2014-15 school year via ASHRAE’s scholarship program.

Over the course of 26 years ASHRAE has awarded more than $1.4 million to over 300 deserving undergraduate and graduate students. The recipients of ASHRAE’s scholarship assistance for 2014-15 are:

  • Reuben Trane Scholarships: $10,000 to be awarded over two years, Hannah Littman, Georgia Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering; Alex Gasper, North Carolina State University, mechanical engineering; and Hunter Bachman, University of Delaware, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship was established by the Trane Co. in memory of its founder, an innovative engineer, inventor and business executive.
  • Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year, Emmett Konrad, Iowa State University, mechanical engineering; and Elena Stutzer, University of Alaska, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship was established by the Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder, who installed the world’s first scientifically designed air-conditioning system.
  • Lynn G.Bellenger Engineering Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Katelyn Stenger, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship recognizes a female undergraduate engineering student and is named in memory of the Society’s first female president.
  • Lynn G. Bellenger Engineering Technology Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Courtney Hart, Vermont Technical College, architectural engineering technology.  The scholarship recognizes female engineering technology students and is named in memory of Presidential Member Bellenger.
  • Frank M.Coda Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Garth Grunerud, Lakehead University, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship was created in memory of ASHRAE’s former executive vice president, who served from 1981-2004.
  • David C.J. Peters Scholarship:$5,000 for one year, Harrison Gray, University of Nevada, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is awarded to qualifying students attending Pennsylvania State University, Virginia Tech, California State University, Oklahoma State University, University of Texas, Clemson University, North Carolina State University, University of Nebraska, Cal Poly State University or University of Nevada. The scholarship was created by Southland Industries to honor Peters, an advocate of recruiting quality.
  • General Scholarships: $5,000 for one year, Keshavan Kope, University of California, mechanical engineering; and Arkasama Bandyopadhyay, Oklahoma State University, mechanical engineering.
  • Memorial Scholarship:$5,000 for one year, Nicole Barber, University of Regina, environmental systems engineering.

The following awards provide one-year $3,000 scholarships:

  • Region III Boggarm S. Setty Scholarship: Bayu Demerci, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering.  This scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate engineering student attending an institution within ASHRAE Region III, which covers Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, D.C. and is named after Setty, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member.  
  • Region IV Benny Bootle Scholarship: Lauriana Cojocaru, Bob Jones University, general engineering. The scholarship was established collaboratively by Region IV and Bootle, a former Region IV director and regional chair on the ASHRAE Board of Directors.
  • Minnesota Chapter Scholarship: Matthew Hamilton, University of Wisconsin, mechanical engineering.
  • Duane Hanson Scholarship: Michelle Shadpour, University of Southern California, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship was established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.
  • Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Andrew Nagus, University of Illinois, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship is named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.
  • Henry Adams Scholarship: Jonathan Hankenhof, University of Cincinnati, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship was established by Henry Adams, Inc. in memory of its founder, a charter member and sixth president of ASHRAE’S predecessor society, ASHVE, established in 1899.
  • Region VIII Scholarship: Rezaei Someyeh, University of Tulsa.  The scholarship is awarded to students attending schools in ASHRAE Region VIII, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Mexico and parts of Louisiana and Texas.
  • Donald E.Nichols Scholarship: Anthony Taylor, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering.  The scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate engineering student attending Tennessee Technological University. It is named for a former ASHRAE vice president and graduate of Tennessee Technological University. 
  • J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship: Yash Palawat, University of Pittsburgh, mechanical engineering.  The Scholarship is named in memory of an ASHRAE member who was a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh and oversaw development of air conditioning equipment used in commercial, military, aerospace and transportation applications. 
  • Bachelor of Engineering Technology Scholarship:Nicholas Guetterman, Southern Illinois University, Industrial Technology.
  • High School Senior Scholarships:Chelsea Galera, Virginia Tech, mechanical engineering; Vincent Recco, Pennsylvania State University, mechanical engineering; Vasilis Schindle, University of Manitoba, mechanical engineering; and Lance Evans, Wenatchee Valley Community College, environmental systems and refrigeration technology.  The scholarships are provided for high school seniors entering their freshman year of college in an engineering or engineering technology program.

Applications are now being accepted for the 2015-16 undergraduate, regional/chapter and university-specific scholarships. The deadline is Dec. 1, 2014. For more information on ASHRAE scholarships, visit